Thien-An Mac

Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Thien-An’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, French, Vietnamese; learning Chinese, Spanish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Software developer
  • BSc in Computer Science
  • From Montreal, Quebec
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


To seek new countries, new cultures. To boldy go where no Canuck has gone before


Where to start? A year ago, I dropped my career and life back in Montreal and attempted a leap of faith to Australia. After working for one year, the dream came to an end and I'm slowly making my way home. And once I got home, I got a job in Vancouver and left my home town once again to live in a new city.

I love to travel and i'm a HUGE foodie! I love to sampling the local cuisine while enjoying the culture and the beauty of the country.

Aside for my love for food (both eating and cooking), I'm also a proud Montrealer, loving his Habs (GO HABS GO!!!) but also loves to travel. I'm always open to try new things and enjoy life. Music is my life (I was a classically trained pianist since the age of 5, but stopped at 16) and I can't live without it.


K.I.S.S: Keep It Simple Stupid
Go with flow, enjoy first, think later.
Live your life like if everyday is your last one
Hakuna Matata

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have hosted a few CS Food tour in Sydney where I brought a dozen of CSer to Cabramatta, and introducing them about vietnamese food and join meet ups and meet other CSer with a couple of bevies.


Never got the chance to couch surf yet, but I met heaps of amazing people at meet ups and events.


I could spend hours writing in this paragraphs and I wouldn't come close to finish.

I love to discover new things and meet all sorts of people. I am very open minded and embrace new things that I have never tried or eaten before.

Ever since I moved to Australia, I am always at Manly Beach on Saturday (assuming it's not pouring cats and dogs) playing beach volleyball, and if time/money allows, I'll be under water scuba diving.

As a computer guy, I'm a huge and very proud geek (but not the stereotypical one from the movies), food (everywhere I go, I make a mission to try out the local specialty, even if it could be bugs or other "revolting" things) and music.

Music, Movies, and Books

Another area where I can spend hours. I watch alot of movies (a bit too much to the point that I can quote various movie quotes) and used to read a lot (thriller and mystery are my all time favorites although I do enjoy satirical and light hearted books).

Cult movies: Star wars (4, 5 and 6. 1, 2 and 3 never happened in my mind), Office Space, Spaceballs, Monty Python and the Holy Grail, any Mel Brooks movie

Music: Whatever my mood feels like, but I tend to prefer rock alternative on my regular days but a good evening of hip hop is always welcomed.

Books: Hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy is one of my all time favorite, sci fi/fantasy/mystery usually catches my attention.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Crawling in a cave in pitch darkness, abseiling down a cave, eating (more tricked) into eat dog meat (NEVER AGAIN!), having a koala kiss me (true story!), swimming next to a sea turtle.

Teach, Learn, Share

Sharing my passion for food, and learning about different cultures (and cuisines) is up on the list. Snowboarding is another sport that I enjoy a lot and teaching/showing about Hockey is a big thing for me too. I always enjoy teaching people about technology (not just about programming but also the culture and advancement in general).

I love to snowboard and I've been doing it for the past 10 years or so, so I can teach (well show you the basics) of snowboarding and how to properly carve.

Countries I’ve Visited

China, Cuba, Dominican Republic, France, Japan, Martinique, Mexico, Singapore, Taiwan, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Thien-An’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups