Malte.Rd's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Malte.Rd’s full profile.


  • 45 references 39 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Indonesian, Spanish; learning Chinese (Simplified), Japanese
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Student/Webdeveloper
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am Malte. Usually I am very relaxed and there are only very few people who and things which can make me angry.

After school I did a volunteer service in the Dominican Republic, then I worked and travelled for nearly three years, spending quite a lot of time in Indonesia.
In 2014 I started to study in Hamburg where I am originally from, lived 2016 in Shanghai for an exchange semester and an internship, finished my bachelor, started my master 2018 and now (September 2019) do an exchange Semester in Nagoya, Japan.
I will be back in Germany in March 2020 or so.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I really enjoyed hosting people, when I had my own apartment in the Dominican Republic. Traveling around South America and Southeast Asia I surfed some couches.


I started doing CouchSurfing in the Dominican Republic, where I had my own apartment. I hosted quite a few people, which was always great! I really enjoyed having CouchSurfers at my place and showing them around etc.
I surfed some couches in the DR and then in South America and Southeast Asia, which I really liked!


Sports (surfing, windsurfing, skating, skiing, scuba diving, running, climbing...), party, music (I know how to play the trumpet as well as the guitar and piano), cooking and good food, other cultures, beaches, waves, waterfalls, beautiful nature, languages, reading, writing, dreaming, sleeping...

  • writing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • marathon
  • running
  • meditation
  • partying
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • trumpet
  • windsurfing
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • skiing
  • skateboarding
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • teaching
  • languages
  • volunteering
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Into the Wild and Butterfly Effect are two great movies!
Those Danish movies like "De grønne slagtere" are nice.

The Shadow of the Wind is an awesome book!
Andreas Altmann writes good travel books.

I love Bachata, but listen to a lot of different kind of music...
Indonesian House is awesome. Vocal and Progressive Trance and Techno, too! But I also enjoy listening to non-electronic music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Taking part in a silent meditation retreat.
Running a marathon.
Surfing the Mentawais.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm always eager to learn more and something new!
I love to cook with other people, learn, share or develop new recipes is great.
I can help you improving (or - although I'm not a teacher - learning) the languages I know...
I can teach you some surfing, skateboarding or other things I know and like to do.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, China, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, France, Germany, Haiti, Indonesia, Iran, Italy, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Morocco, Netherlands, Peru, Portugal, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Timor-Leste (East Timor), Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Dominican Republic, Germany, Indonesia

Old School Badges

  • 5 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Malte.Rd’s full profile.

My Groups