Logo orange

Malú Ramírez

Mexico City, Mexico

Wants to Meet Up

Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Malú's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 15 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French, German, Japanese
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Travelling graphic designer.
  • Graphic arts and design.
  • From Mexico City, Federal District, Mexico
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


ABOUT ME
Born in Mexico City, I moved to Monterrey, Mexico at 6 years of age, and lived there for 19 years. I've also lived in Leeds, England for a year and a half. Now I've moved back to Mexico City.

I'm a graphic designer. I enjoy walking around cities, looking for and finding street art, underground art or music venues, and interesting-looking shops and cafés. As much as I enjoy the urban life, I also like being outside surrounded by nature in mountains, fields, jungles, lakes, rivers, or the desert.

I like trying out different food, as long as it's vegetarian (dairy and eggs are ok).

There are still a lot of places I want to go to, things I want to see, and experiences I want to have. However, I am young, energetic, and with the aim to never grow old (just wise), and always keep flying!


PHILOSOPHY
Every experience is an opportunity to learn something new.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing


HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING
Surfing, and I recently started hosting as well! Overall, sharing a bit of my culture wherever I am.


COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
Surfing in Petra, Jordan
Surfing in Barcelona, Catalunya
CS meetings in Leeds, UK
Surfing in Budapest, Hungary
Surfing in Bucharest, Romania
Surfing in Istambul, Turkey
CS meeting in Monterrey, Mexico
Hosting in Leeds, UK

Interests

Art, graphic design, bookbinding, photography, music, film, travelling, dancing, theatre, vegetarian food, books, cycling, learning, geography, history, a bit of politics, intercultural exchange, languages, upcycling, communities and alternative lifestyles.

Music, Movies & Books

Pink Floyd, rock and metal, Star Wars saga, Big Fish, El Lado Oscuro del Corazón, Harry Potter books, A Thousand Splendid Suns, Wicked.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

• Sleeping in a cave in the middle of the desert in Petra, with no light around us except a fire, and only the stars above to keep watch.

• Seeing and photographing grey whales in Baja California was a magical experience. Swimming with seals in the ocean was lots of fun too!

• Talking to a stranger in California, and ending up having a lengthy conversation about various topics; exchanging views on life and pieces of advice.

Teach, Learn, Share

I know a little bit of everything, and much about nothing.

I love art museums and can spend big amounts of time inside one, commenting with whoever is interested. I can also have lengthy conversations about art and design, preferably with a mug of good coffee, and cake if possible.

Obviously travelling together is always a learning experience for both sides, especially if it involves photography as well.

I would love to learn more about cooking, and interesting food combination.

I deeply enjoy conversations about differences and similarities between countries and cultures, so I would love to hear what you have to say about where you've been, and in exchange I can teach you a bit about Mexico or the places I have travelled to... and even teach you some Spanish!

Countries I've Visited

Aruba, Austria, Bulgaria, Canada, Curaçao, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Mexico, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, Norway, Puerto Rico, Romania, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United States, Virgin Islands, U.S., Wales

Countries I've Lived In

England, Mexico

Join Couchsurfing to see Malú's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile