Logo orange

Mandi Dudek

San Diego, California, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mandi's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 5 Positive References
  • No languages listed
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Nanny
  • San Francisco State Uni, London Metr...
  • From Brentwood, Ca
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to travel to as many places as I can in the little time I have. And.. to meet, you.

ABOUT ME

I grew up in a small farm town called Brentwood. As soon as i turned 18 I moved to San Francisco and fell in love with the city. Two years later, I realized I have no idea what else there is in the world so I moved to London. I finally feel like I found what I'm supposed to be doing with my life, travelling. I travelled the UK and some of Europe and I'm officially addicted to travelling and meeting people while gaining memories. I just graduated from uni in San Francisco (did one year in London), moved to San Diego to live with my best friend and now the world is my oyster, or however that goes.

I bought a digital slr camera a few years back and recently got a GoPro Hero 2 so I'm always documenting everything. I have a guitar and a surfboard but have yet to learn on either. I'm open to new things and I live to have fun.

PHILOSOPHY

I spent about 18 years of my life struggling to find out where I belong but I feel that's normal for adolescence. I found out when I moved to San Francisco that the whole time I was struggling to fit in with everyone else in my small town, THE ONLY THING I was doing was fitting in. And that was my problem, I'm not meant to "fit in" with everyone else. I moved to SF and met a handful of people who fit the pieces that I was missing to transition from the girl my small hometown created into the individual I was searching for all this time. San Francisco opened my eyes to so many things and I couldn't be more happy. I see life through my own perspective and I've been thinking about how to put my philosophy into words and it's so difficult to nail it head on. But basically, an event happened in October of last year that changed my life and put that fire under my butt to live life like I've always wanted to. Nobody ever knows what is in the world unless they see it for themselves. And how do I know I'm truly happy in the place I am if I could possibly be more happy somewhere else?

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

When I lived in San Francisco, my roommates and I would host people from all over the world, even people from other states. I've participated in a few meet-ups and met people that way as well. When I was travelling around Europe, I couchsurfed as often as I could and loved it.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Prior to finding this website, the only "couch surfing" I used to do was those mornings I'd wake up on someones couch and have to tour the house to find out what happened last night! Now that I got into CS, I've hosted a couple people and I've gotten hooked on the idea of surfing and hosting. I used to travel around the states with my older sister and stay at hostels and motels meeting as many people along the way as I could.

Interests

I'm interested in every neighborhood in San Francisco for its own reason. I love photography, music and anything involving being active and outdoors. I'm a huge music festial go-er. I've been to a few years of Coachella and Outsidelands, FYF fest and various one day festivals. I rarely go a month without live music. I love people because each one has a story behind why they are where they are. I love meeting new people and making new friends. I love being surrounded by my friends, especially on a sunny day in a huge park in San Francisco. Now that I found my newfound passion to travel, the best stories and memories I have begin with "when I was in.." But theres no way I could put down everything I love on this blank space so we'll have to meet up for a drink sometime!

Music, Movies & Books

Music is the one thing I can always depend on and it never lets me down. No matter what mood I'm in, music hits that mood perfectly. I moved into a new city that expanded my music taste completely because I was so open to it and now its sort of my obsession. I like any type of music from the 1930s to today in any genre. I listen to Indie music a lot but I couldn't pick one type to be my favorite. I tend to spend all my money on music shows/festivals so as far as music goes.. I could talk for ages about it.

My love for movies is very similar. I watch movies whenever I have free time. My fav. movies are ones made before 1999, specifically 80s movies. If I start naming movies that I love, the list would go on and on. If you want to have a conversation with me, my favorite topic is Movies and Music. I love them.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Way tooo many, again.. it's a conversation over a drink or two!

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Croatia, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Mandi's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile