Carrie Mann's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Carrie’s full profile.

Overview

  • 24 references 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Environmental politics
  • B.A.'s in Political Science and International Studies
  • From Burlington, CT, United States
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a professional hippie. I work in environmental politics. I spend my days writing about how to protect the food we eat, how to make our spaces more sustainable, how to make politicians care about the planet.

I've been in DC for three years -- before that, I backpacked and CouchSurfed from Germany to Thailand on $15/day.

I like cities, but I'd rather be in the mountains or on the beach. And I was definitely meant to live somewhere tropical. DC in August doesn't count.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

After 1 year in 22 countries on $15 a day, the most important lesson I learned is that when we travel, we become incredibly reliant on others. And it's always better when others lend a helping hand. Even your worst days --and there will be bad days, even when traveling -- can be made better by forming a positive local connection.

CouchSurfing connects the people who need those helping hands to the people willing to provide them. I've been on both sides, and I look back on almost every CouchSurfing experience I've had with a smile.

Interests

Politics, travel, cycling, diving, hiking, learning languages

  • writing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • politics
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • scuba diving
  • languages
  • beaches
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

One day I'm listening to Thelonius Monk and reading 1,000-page books about the growth of the modern conservative movement. The next day I'm listening to Taylor Swift and reading trashy pop novels.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Watched the sun set over the very tip of India. With about 20,000 other people.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: How to cook food from most corners of the world
Learn: Whatever you think I need to know
Share: Respect and a good time

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, India, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Moldova, Morocco, Romania, Serbia, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Carrie’s full profile.

My Groups