Manuel Kubicka's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Manuel’s full profile.


  • Project assistant at Graz University of Technology
  • PhD in Space Sciences, with a Focus on Satellite Systems
  • From Freistadt, Upper Austria, Austria
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I think I am a rather down-to-earth person who likes to laugh a lot. Typically I am very calm but if I enjoy something, I can be very enthusiastic about it. I would describe my self as a very helpful persion who likes to listen to what people have to say and to discuss ideas, be it about life, the universe, philosophy or pretty much any topic.

In my spare time I do a lot of sports, Parkour mainly, and more recently I started bouldering. Parkour is something I am very passionate about and I have been practising the sport since about 14 years now, many of which I have been a coach as well. It is the joy of being outdoors and in the nature, moving freely and without restrictions which makes it so great!

On the other hand, I am very passionate about technology and science, physics in particular. I like to read all kinds and genres of books but mostly - so far - I read fiction / science fiction but also nonfiction, mainly about space and cosmology.

What else..? I enjoy meeting new people but occasionally I need my time of solitude to relax and calm down. I can be a bit shy at times but I am usually a rather uncomplicated person.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I spent most of my life going from one Job / Education to the next and I have the feeling that I just did not see enough of this beautiful world yet.

I hope that Couchsurfing helps me to travel the world and to meet new people along the way. I would very much like to meet local people from the places I plan to visit. It is a great way to get started at a new place, to gather some ideas on what to do and just to have a nice conversation with new people with a potentially very different mindset and culture.


  • hiking
  • sports
  • travelling
  • climbing
  • discovering
  • lost places

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I like any genre really but It depends very much on the song. Mostly though, I listen to electronic music but more on the melodic / synthwave side.

Books: One of my all time favourites are "Sterntagebücher" from Stanisław Lem amd "Contact" from Carl Sagan

Movies: I like movies the most that tease the mind a bit and that are unconventional. Just to name some examples: Killing Words, Perfect crime, Parasites. Some more conventional ones I enjoy are: Interstellar, Lord of the Rings (who doesn't like those?!)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I havn't travelled anywhere outside Europe so far, except once and that was partially work related. However, It was quite an amazing experience since we went to the European Space Prot in Kourou, French Guiana, to launch our first Satellite from there. The space port itself is quite impressive and being surrounded by Jungle makes it even more exciting.

I knew the area a bit since two years earlier we went on another trip to Kourou, spending some nights in a house boat on a river, in the middle of nowhere and afterwards in an old, abandoned gold digger camp, also in the middle of the jungle.

It would be nice to see a lot more of the world and to explore!

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a very curious person so I love to learn new things. If you have anything to share, I am all ears! :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am more than happy to help anywhere I can, should you be willing to provide me with a place to sleep. I could help in the household, in the garden or just by getting some groceries.

Should you be interested, I would be eager to teach or to share some knowledge about physics, math and the universe and I am also rather skilled in technical matters and computers, so if there is anything to be fixed at home, I would love to help!

If you are interested in sports, I would love to go on a hike, go climbing or any other outdoor related activity and I could teach you Parkour.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Croatia, England, France, French Guiana, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Slovenia, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Manuel’s full profile.