Manuel Helbig

Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Manuel’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • PhD student
  • graduated (M.Sc. Geography)
  • From Stuttgart
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


arriving in Montréal


I have started my PhD studies at Université de Montréal in January. My research is on climate change feedbacks of environmental processes of northern landscapes in Canada. Besides studying I am doing photography. My special interest is landscape photography.

I love cooking, eating and chatting. Meeting new people all over the world and sharing my experiences with them makes me happy and dreaming of a better world.


Be open-minded and share your experiences it helps making the world a little better.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


If I do have some free time when surfing I love to cook Spätzle (south German delicacy) for my hosts all over the world.


I hosted a couple of people back in Germany as well as in Astana/Kazakhstan. I really loved to chat together, to show my hosts the city and to have dinner together. I also surfed a couple of couches in Germany, France, Russia and Kazakhstan and liked always the way you get to know the people and the cities in a very special way.


photography, music, hiking, different cultures...

Music, Movies, and Books

Funk, Soul, Hip-Hop, Electro, Russian Polka and Dub

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Sleeping in the middle of the Kazakh steppe and enjoying the marvellous sky above.
- Perfect calm in the russian arctic.

Teach, Learn, Share

Environmental science (esp. hydrology and climatology).
Practical skills in photography.
Hiking experience.

Countries I’ve Visited

Iceland, Kyrgyzstan, New Zealand, Portugal, Romania, Samoa

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Kazakhstan, New Zealand, Russian Federation

Join Couchsurfing to see Manuel’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups