Manuel Márquez's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 23 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Manuel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 11 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese, Spanish; learning French, Italian
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • QA coordinator
  • BA in Modern Languages
  • From San Cristóbal, Táchira, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Expat and solo traveller living and discovering Colombia since 2017. Manuel Ricardo is a talkative, easy-going and quiet guy.

I am from an intermediate city 57 km away from the Colombian border. At the age of 17, I left my hometown and I entered more into the Venezuelan Andes for my university studies in Mérida. In 2013 I got stamped my first passport at Dublin Airport and after seven months of living in the Irish capital I went back to my country. I finished the university, I packed up and crossed the border to my mother's country. After traveling between Santander and Boyacá departments, I found my place in Bogotá ...my home for now.

About my interests and hobbies: I love social sciences, especially history. I like the mountain, trekking, biking, playing PC games, and making friends.

My Instagram account is manurich23.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am here to share life experiences and interests by discovering fantastic people and places whenever possible. Meeting travellers and adventurous people willing to discover Colombia and its capital, Bogotá, also allows me to explore more this beautiful city.

Interests

  • writing
  • traveling
  • geography
  • history
  • languages
  • linguistics
  • museums
  • talking
  • airplanes
  • south america
  • maps

Music, Movies, and Books

Spotify says that I like genres such as Italian pop, francoton, sertanejo, rap, and soundtracks.
Music in foreign languages is my favourite being Hungarian, Indonesian, Japanese and Chinese the most distinct from my mother tongue. Though I like Pál Dénes, NOAH, Ma2x or Annalisa does not mean I don't listen to some local artists!

Neftlix suggests to me thrillers, historical and psychological films, also documentaries and science fiction titles. Films and TV series I loved and recommend are: Kingdom of Heaven, The Ring, Vikings, What if, The Innocent, and The Queen's Gambit.

I am not an avid reader, however, I enjoy short stories, biographies and police novels. History, fantasy and mystery books are also part of my preferred literature.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In April 2017 I moved to Colombia with only 50€ to start a new life. 5 years later I am settled down in Bogotá, I brought my family to this country and I have visited more places here than in my homeland ...but I think this is a story to tell in person.

Teach, Learn, Share

Definitely teaching or talking about languages is something I enjoy, not only linguistically but culturally.
Since I love history, I can tell you about mi countries' past, traditions and way of life.

I think that we learn by chatting, I love listening to someone's stories, discovering the world through his/her experiences, and showing mine too.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I will be glad to help you in anything I can. It will be also a pleasure to take part of any activity in which we can show and share our cultures: having a walk, watching music videos, going for a drink, and more!

Countries I’ve Visited

Brazil, Colombia, Ireland, Mexico

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, Ireland, Venezuela

Join Couchsurfing to see Manuel’s full profile.

My Groups