Logo orange

Mauricio Diazgranados

Washington, DC, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mauricio's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 23 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Italian, Spanish; learning Portuguese
  • 40, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Biology (Ecology, Evolution and Syst...
  • MS, PhD
  • From Bogota, Colombia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Help the world, through the conservation of natural resources and the change of our minds

ABOUT ME

I've been lucky. My eyes have seen the mist of the Amazon forest, my nose has felt the pure air of the top of the Andes, and my feet have walked thousands of mountains and lakes. That's a part of me, I'm a Nature lover. But also, I'm a hiker in my spiritual path, which seems to be loooong trail.

I believe I think, and I think I believe, in life, in love, in evolution (biological and spiritual), in happiness, in a fun life. That's my life's goal: to be happy, but not just to experience pleasure, but TO BE REALLY HAPPY. And I try to achieve this goal every day, with positive thinking, with service to others, with passion and dedication to what I do, and of course with humor and a note of Tropicalism.

Life has showed me a few times that we live in a spark of time, which can fade in seconds. That's why I try to make every bit of time precious, funny, rich and enjoyable.

PHILOSOPHY

I'm more interested in spiritual paths not attached to any religion. Every belief, every person is accepted in my house. The only condition is that you must respect LIFE in all its manifestations.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I love to host, to be hosted and to know friends. Life without friends wouldn't be nice. I help with the community building this net of friends.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

All my life I have traveled in many countries and places and many times I have hosted visitors or I've been hosted in different places. My last CS experiences as a surfer were in DC in June 2011, where I was hosted by three different amazing CS and had a terrific time. Recently I've been hosting CS surfers, and a great couple from Canada and Australia just left home after being here for three days. Love CS!

Interests

I'm a researcher in Biology. I do research on evolution (with DNA) and on climate change impacts. I work primarily with plants (so I'm a botanist too :). I go to the field (e. g. Tropical mountains/forest), collect plants, identify new species, and go back to the lab, where I extract DNA and crunch molecular and ecological data. For fun I'm an outdoor person (hiking, skiing, windsurfing, golf, etc.). I bike everyday from home to work (http://youtu.be/OvliIpxFwls). I love dancing, but especially Latin music (salsa, bachata, merengue, chachacha, etc.). I enjoy going to concerts, or chatting in a bar or cafe. Watching movies is also a favorite plan. I promise you wouldn't get bored with me ;)

Music, Movies & Books

I like a little bit of everything, sometimes in the extremes: from chill down electronic to rock, from Latin music to African music to American folk (some), from reggae to ska. Same with food, although I'm Vegetarian (but it's fine if you're not). Some favorite books: One River (Wade Davies) and The Third Chimpanzee (Jared Diamond). Some favorite movies: way too many to remember, but some that pop up in my mind now are: Amelie, Hombre mirando al Sudeste, The Big Blue, The Shawshank Redemption, Forrest Gump, The Green Mile, Titanic (yes, so what?), Braveheart, Apocalypto and many more...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Many, many, many... I am like a cat with several lives, but I have already spent at least three. I've been lost for three days in the forest; I have a bullet in my right knee, plus other scars, each with a story behind; I traveled 11 countries in Europe for three months with only $700 dollars for everything, visiting lots of museums (and that was before CS!); I've done ayahuasca, peyote, ambil, and mambe with the indians in the forest; in 2009 I slept for almost five months in my tent in different mountains of Colombia; I've seen the sunrise at 17,000 ft of elevation; I've grabbed dozens of snakes and I've seen anacondas in the wild; once I was followed by a jaguar in the Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta; I've been stuck in the mud with my 1979 old Nissan 4x4 many times, in the middle of nowhere, I've slept in the desert under the stars, in the forest on a hammock under the trees and inside sewer pipes...

Teach, Learn, Share

http://www.mauricio-diazgranados.com

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina, Colombia, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Mauricio's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile