Mara Bakkenhoven's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 39 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mara’s full profile.


  • 24 references 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, Portuguese; learning Chinese (Simplified), German, Italian, Japanese, Russian
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2022
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • From Leiden, South Holland, Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

⚠️ please take the time to read my profile or at least the about me section ⚠️

Ig @zenithseye


Currently travelling and not actually from Leiden!
I am quadruple vaccinated and had covid most likely twice so all good!
I have a boyfriend so please no flirting!
Also please don't bother to send requests from a different country, I'm not going to cross the border into Iraq just because I'm visiting Kuwait!

⚠️ Please only host me if you are okay with leaving me the key 🔑, I had bad experience in Azerbaijan regarding this where I was last minute expected to stay outside for 10 hours after being heavily jetlagged. Hosting without a key only works if the host is willing to go and give tours to the surfer or are home like all day. Not I go 10 hours to work and now you survive out there ⚠️

I'm half Dutch and half Portuguesa and looking to become a musician and also am trying to vlog my travel experiences (just started). I play guitar, flute and I sing. I can also do a little violin and keyboard. I'm currently travelling around a bit and looking to stop around Middle East, Mediterranean and Caucasus. I love travelling, reading, music, fashion, gaming, hiking, etc.

I love learning languages and am fluent in Dutch, English and almost Portuguese, quite decent at German and learning a whole plethora of other languages. I got into Japanese culture and anime so I've learned quite a lot of things. I got into Russian because I became a fan of Russian figure skating.
Now I also try to learn Chinese, but it remains rather difficult.

Also I'm vegan, but it's no problem since I can manage food on my own :)

I'm usually either at my family, boyfriend, friends or travelling, but in the future I would like to host as well if the opportunity ever arises

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet new cool people to have a great time with and have the local experience to also get that deeper information that you don't get staying in a hotel by yourself


I already mentioned them in my bio :)

  • arts
  • singing
  • fashion
  • vegan
  • traveling
  • rock music
  • guitar
  • metal music
  • hiking
  • nature
  • reading books
  • gaming
  • museums
  • programming
  • making new friends
  • portuguese
  • portugal
  • msuic
  • kazakhstan

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Audioslave, Pearl Jam, Black Sabbath, Rainbow, Arctic Monkeys, Guns N' Roses, Måneskin, Muse, Highly Suspect, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, Metallica, Ghost, Iron Maiden, Eric Clapton, Dio, Rammstein, etc.

Also K-pop, but mainly SHINee and Twice

Movies: Inglourious Basterds, The Pianist, Schindler's List, etc.

Usually WW2 and documentaries, also love Monty Python

Books: The Book Thief, 1984, Dracula, The Priory of the Orange Tree, The Witcher series, Jane Eyre, Howl's Moving Castle trilogy, Me Before You, The Queen's Gambit, Edgar Allan Poe, etc.

I have a large collection of books to still read, just never get around to it because of travelling so I'm always away from my collection :(

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I went on a journey to West Azerbaijan on a small bus and saw some really cool nature and things from the Silk Road

Saw wild horses in Latvia and found a bone

Got robbed in Romania, but they left my backpack behind, only took the money and I just felt grateful the things that actually mattered were still there

Saw the Northern lights in Iceland including a shooting star

Went to an Eric Clapton concert in the desert and got the setlist after F1 Bahrain

Slept one week in the favela Vidigal of Rio de Janeiro and had a better time than a supposedly "safe" neighbourhood were I was for 19 days

Attended a festa dos tabuleiros in my Portuguese hometown called Tomar

Saw F1 in Baku Azerbaijan at the Ischeri Sheher grandstand, very hot, but cool experience and also the only time in my life I will have seen Vettel in action

Final Black Sabbath concert in Germany before they moved on to the British Isles and disbanded and I had golden circle tickets

Travelling 5 continents within 1 year while originally I thought I was going nowhere this year

Teach, Learn, Share

Well I speak Dutch, English and Portuguese enough to teach and also play the guitar. Probably some other random stuff I can't think of

What I Can Share with Hosts

My great energy, crazy travel stories and whatever I could help with

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Mara’s full profile.