Maranda Garrett's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maranda’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 20 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • No education listed
  • From Newport, OR, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

21 years young, born and raised in the heart of the Oregon Coast(Newport), I moved to beautiful Corvallis Oregon in February 2016. I will be attending OSU for the next 3 years working on a major in Microbiology with a focus on pre-med and minor in Spanish. I come from a large family, so please come right in and make yourself at home! I have an orange tabby cat named Milo, she's a shy girl but really loving once she gets to know people.

I AM:
✔️Very outgoing and charismatic. I love engaging in deep, insightful conversations!
✔️Working towards becoming a doctor, I find great fulfillment and enjoyment from taking care of people.
✔️A Celiac, aka gluten free eater. Also, cannot eat corn in any form. I stay true to my diet very strictly, please be considerate in the kitchen.
✔️An enthusiast of all things outdoors, let's go for an adventure together!
✔️A great listener, loves to hear stories about all things, including travels, family, careers, etc.

"We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

My old housemate from Bend got me into it! My first experience hosting was absolutely amazing!! Since then I've fallen in love with meeting new people, hearing their stories and sharing in adventures.

Interests

Learning. Hiking. Bike Touring. Backpacking. Surfing, in the ocean. Kayaking. Photography. Knitting. Reading. Experiencing new things.

  • photography
  • dancing
  • dieting
  • partying
  • reading
  • knitting
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • kayaking
  • surfing
  • nursing

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Dirty Heads. Cage the Elephant. The Lumineers. Red Hot Chili Peppers. Kings of Leon. Trevor Hall. MercyMe. Nahko and Medicine for the People. Mumford and Sons. Ben Howard. Mighty Oaks.

Movies: Surfs Up. EVERY Ice Age film. Pirates of the Caribbean. Into the wild. Inside Out. Big Hero 6. Point Break.

Books: Born to Run. Calvin and Hobbes. Paper Towns. Harry Potter. Woman at Point Zero. The Book Thief.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Was convinced to cycle 101 miles to Crater Lake with, my now very good friend, Peter. Who at the time I had known a total of 15 hours. In my eyes, the craziest most irrational last minute decision I've ever made. It was so worth it though. I was overwhelmed with the atmosphere of bike touring, the beautiful scenery, the struggle of an uphill climb, and the end result of the stunning Crater Lake.

Summer 2016 my good friend Ben and I went on a 1,000 mile bike tour through the Canadian Rockies. We cycled up some massive passes, saw many bears, and slept through many thunderstorms. The most amazing experience of my life thus far.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Lots of adventure! If our time permits, I would love to hike with you! I'm a great conversationalist, I very much enjoy swapping stories of all sorts! Many laughs, I'm all about releasing those endorphins and relieving stress!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Germany, Italy, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Maranda’s full profile. It’s free!