Mara Able's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mara’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 15 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • English Teacher & Vegan Baker
  • B.A. in Italian Studies & Education, TEFL & TESOL certifi...
  • From Atwater, CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello! I'm Mara.

I was born and raised in California. My mother is Italian, so I spent quite a lot of time in Italy and after graduating from university, I moved to Rimini, Italy to live with my boyfriend (now, husband).

I love languages, although I am only fluent in two: English and Italian. I also love being outdoors. I play soccer and softball, though I rarely have time to do that nowadays. I recently got into hiking and have had the chance to explore trails in California, Nevada, Oregon, Sweden, Norway, and Italy. When I feel like relaxing, I like to spend time by the pool, reading a good book. I'm also a huge fan of TV shows and movies. Music is another passion of mine. I used to play in the school marching band and orchestra. When I lived in Italy, I played in a punk rock band called Prometheus. Oh, and I love baking! I'm vegan, so I don't use eggs or dairy but my baked goods come out just fine, I promise :)

I currently live in Las Vegas with my husband and our dog, Spike. I travel throughout most of the summer months and will not be able to host during that time (also, summer in Vegas is VERY hot. I'd recommend visiting in fall or winter.) I work from home (I teach English online with VIPKID. If you're an ESL teacher and are looking for some extra income by working from home - or while traveling - send me a message and I'll tell you all about it and help you through the hiring process). I'm usually busy in the mornings (3am-7am PST) but am free the rest of the day if you want to hang out or go exploring.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love traveling but cannot always afford to stay in hostels or hotels. Couch surfing allows me to do what I love without burning a hole in my pocket! I also love the idea of helping out other travelers who are looking for a place to stay or someone to show them around. I cannot host at the time but should be able to come September.

Interests

  • animals
  • cooking
  • baking
  • vegan
  • running
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • soccer
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

MUSIC: Dangers, Touche Amore, Rocky Votolato, Explosions in the Sky, Broadway Calls, Johnny Cash, Modern Life is War, and many others!

htttp://www.last.fm/user/marason

BOOKS: The Ultimate Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, The Phantom Tollbooth, The Little Prince, The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, The Amber Spyglass

MOVIES: The Golden Compass, I cento passi, The Lion King, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, La mafia uccide solo d'estate, Interstellar

SERIES: Game of Thrones, Vikings, Futurama

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I hiked Priekestolen in Norway. The views were breathtaking.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to bake without using animal products and how to speak English :P

I'd really like to learn to speak Polish, Swedish, and Norwegian. Oh, and I want to learn to screen print and how to grow a garden, or at least keep my plants from withering!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Towels and bedding.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, San Marino, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Mara’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups