Marc Buchalter's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marc’s full profile.


  • 93 references 74 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 75, Male
  • Member since 2019
  • Retired, Public Purchaser 27 years at University of Calif...
  • Bachelors Degree
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I have been vaccinated for COVID19
I love to travel and have been to Mexico, South America and Europe. I love history, and culture. I love jazz, blues, and classical music. But I am willing to give any music a try. I also love reading. My favorite subject is history but I like reading good novels and science as well.
I have really enjoyed the guests I have hosted from CouchSurfing.
I also enjoy a good conversation about politics, history, gender issues, race. I try to be "woke" but frankly still make mistakes.
My home is LGBTQA friendly.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have a spare room and I thought it would be nice to host travelers and to meet people from other lands and cultures. I enjoy showing guests around the San Francisco Bay Area.
Next time I travel I think it would be nice to stay with local people who feel like I do about hosting travelers.


  • politics
  • racial justice
  • political philosophy
  • history and culture
  • gender issues

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: John Coltrane and Duke Ellington's "Sentimental Mood", Bill Evens, Miles Davis, Bob Dylan, Elmore James, Blind Willie Mctell.

Books: Joseph Conrad and Rudyard Kipling are my favorite authors. But I also love the novels of Robertson Davis, John LeCarre, Graham Green, Haruki Murakami.
My favorite non-fiction authors are Ta-Nehisi Coates (I think Coates writes like an Angel), Bart D Ehrman, Rick Atkinson.
Movies: My favorite movie is Marcel Carne's Children of Paradise. I also like John Sayles' Lone Star, Coen Brothers' Fargo.
Art: My favorite painters are El Greco, Wayne Thiebaud, Clifford Still

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

When I was 13 years old I saved an unconscious 17 year old boy from drowning by pulling him up from 12 feet of water and pulling him out of the pool.

Teach, Learn, Share

Knowledge of San Francisco Bay Area, lemons and tomatoes from my garden, good conversation and a glass of wine, and my laundry.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am a good cook and would be glad to cook for a host or take you out for drinks and dinner. I can share pleasant company, many years of experience some knowledge of history and politics.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Chile, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Georgia, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Marc’s full profile.

My Groups