Marco D-503's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 97% response rate
  • Last login about 21 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marco’s full profile.

Overview

  • 30 references 20 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian, Spanish; learning French
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Builder of castles in the sky
  • Master's in dreaming of waking up with the sound of the sea
  • From Rome, Rome, Italy
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

Marco... I am multifaceted guy with a lot of passions; I love laughing and making jokes, but then I am a sensitive and reflective person, I don't like narcissistic and materialistic people: we live in a society where we tend to praise those kind of people and we are slowly forgetting how marvelous kind and empathetic people are in this world. (being is more important than appereance.. always!).
I lived abroad in different countries for almost 3 years from 2014 to 2016 and I still crack a nostalgic smile when, sometimes, I recall the big London and its incredible atmosphere or the vivid colours in New Zealand or the huge variety of nature in Australia... what a dream! Despite that, the memories regarding people I've met during my travels are more emotional than anything else...
I do think one of the secrets to grow up and evolve as human being is to learn about other people, to listen to other stories and experiences of life, other ways of thinking and other ways to see things...
Quoting Oscar Wilde "The real things of life neither are studied nor learned, but are encountered".

Music, Movies, and Books

1)I love READING with all my heart, it is my personal "shelter" :)
Novels, Psychology books, Poetry:
Orwell, Huxley. Hesse, Tolstoj. Kafka, Wilde, Dostoevskij, Coelho, Kerouac, King, Baumann, Chul Han, Pirandello, Svevo. Moravia, Morante, Calvino, De Carlo, Pasolini, Bukoswki, Baudelaire....
2) I studied CINEMA in the university and it's always been my greatest passion:
Fellini, Rossellini, De Sica, Bergmann, Argento, Hitchcock, Wells, Lang, Chaplin, Kubrick, Carpenter, Lynch, Scott, Scorsese, Cameron, Tarantino, Spielberg, Fincher...
3)MUSIC:
Rock 60'70'80', Metal, Punk, Blues, old Italian songwriters, Electronic music...
4)COMICS:
Hokuto No Ken,Berserk,Dylan Dog...
5)Italy is the cradle of ART, I adore visiting museums and art exhibitions:
Monet, Gaugin, Cezanne, Van Gogh, Bernini, Michelangelo, Leonardo, Botticelli, Caravaggio, Dalì, Gericault, De Chirico, Hopper, Aivazovsky...
6) I follow a lot of SPORT:
Padel,Tennis, Rugby, Football, Basketball, Volleyball
p.s. 7) SEA lover

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-Great Ocean Road(Adelaide-Melbourne) 10 days with a campervan rented by me and three random English guys/girl and one German guy, it could have been a disaster ,it was marvelous instead!
-Unforgettable one week road trip around Ireland with my french friend Loic and a lovely Canadian girl captured in cs a couple of days before the departure!
-Hitchhiking two weeks in New Zealand by myself! Kiwi people will always have a big spot in my heart!
- I deleted all my social network profiles! (it is incredible isn't it ? ahahha)
-Preventing myself from commiting suicide after seeing foreign people putting ketchup on pasta ahaha

Teach, Learn, Share

-I am always open to discuss any kind of topic without judging anyone, the more we share the more we learn from each other. ;)
-I like cooking so I can teach you how to make a lot of italian recipes (carbonara,amatriciana,parmigiana,lasagna, risotto...) correctly without making a fool of yourself anymore (scroll up for the ketchup/pasta drama aahhah)
-We can play together: pool, chess, basketball, volleyball, guitar...
-I can show you around with my good knowledge in terms of art and secret gems to visit, I love to see Rome through the travellers' eyes...
-Last but not least, and you? What can you teach me?

What I Can Share with Hosts

I live alone in my apartment, I can provide a bed to only one person and I can't host more than 2-3 nights. I live few minutes walking from one of the most beautiful parks in Rome " Parco degli Acquedotti" and Cinecittà metro station (so you will be in the city center in 20 minutes by metro).

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Bulgaria, England, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Portugal, Scotland, Slovenia, Spain, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, England, Ireland, Italy, Scotland

Join Couchsurfing to see Marco’s full profile.

My Groups