Logo orange

Maren Burgdorff

Braunschweig, Niedersachsen, Germany

Wants to Meet Up

Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maren's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 2 Positive References
  • Fluent in German; learning English, French, Italian
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Student. Work with children.
  • MA in Linguistics
  • From Braunschweig, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Make the most of every day.

ABOUT ME

I am a student from Germany who studies languages and literature. I am a kind and warm-hearted person who is always willing to help. I am rather quiet but nice and easy to talk to. I have a tendency to think too much but sometimes it helps inventing new ideas. You never need to be scared of me!

PHILOSOPHY

Always follow your heart!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I live in a shared flat so it's always a bit busy and we actually don't have a spare couch but if you urgently need a place to stay, feel free to get in touch - maybe we can try to work something out. :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far I have 'only managed' to meet up with people through Couchsurfing - which I think is a great experience in itself. It definitely helps to meet people who share the love for travel, which, I think, is more than just an interest.

Interests

What interests me, really, is human nature. It's this one basic interest that kind of combines and connects all the others. Travelling to me is about meeting new people, getting to know other cultures and especially learning from them - travel can teach you so many things; at best if you look close enough. I enjoy a good book as stories have a similar effect on your knowledge and experience as travel does. Watching movies or documentaries is another way I like to use to widen my horizons. But I also love the outdoors - being surrounded by nature, and only nature, is still one of the most relaxing feelings. I love music and dance and I also enjoy walking through city centres and discover new things; I'm interested in arts and museums and libraries and enjoy walking through botanic gardens. Next to people, I also love animals. Watching the little blue penguin parade and spotting a koala for the first time were the two highlights on my trip to Australia. And I'm always up to go to the theatre to watch a good play or musical - always wanted to see the ballet but haven't had the chance to thus far.

Music, Movies & Books

Music: The Fray, Mumford & Sons, Coldplay, Of Monsters And Men, The Lumineers, and many more.

Books: Memoirs of a Geisha; Eat, Pray, Love; Me Before You, The Kite Runner, and many more.

Movies: pretty much anything (RomCom, Sci-Fi, Action, Horror, Drama...)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I've recently climbed the Etna with some friends and what I thought was really amazing was the silence we discovered there. If nobody of us said anything, you could hear nothing but silence. It felt as if you could hear the little bugs climbing the little stones around us.

Teach, Learn, Share

I've been getting around a lot and met many different people so I think there's always something to share; stories to tell. Most of all, I am a good listener as I am very interested in people, generally, and how they feel and what they have to say. There's always something to learn.

What I Can Share With Hosts

Simply put: kindness. ;) (I'll be honest here: I can't cook - but I am always eager to do the dishes - REALLY!) :)

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, Italy, New Zealand, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Maren's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile