Maren Clara's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 51% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maren’s full profile.


  • 86 references 71 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Icelandic, Latin, Polish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • No occupation listed
  • Student in archaeology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi, I am Maren. I'm based both in Reykjavík (Iceland) and Heidelberg (Germany).

I'm studying archaeology and I am very passionate about it. If you don't stop me, I might end up talking about bones and excavations for hours. (Side note: Archaeologists don't dig up dinosaurs ;) ).

Also, I have a very deep fascination for the cold North. I have travelled quite extensively around the Northern hemisphere, and I'm happy to share some travel advice. My favorite place on earth is Iceland, I have been there countless times and hope to live there at some point.

My friends describe me as idealistic, left-wing and feminist, and there is certainly some truth in that :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love meeting new people from all over the world because there is always something new to learn and to think about. In my opinion, Couchsurfing offers a fantastic opportunity to meet people with totally different perspectives and backgrounds, people you wouldn't have met otherwise. I got inspired a lot by fellow Couchsurfers who crossed my path and met some of my closest friends through this platform.


Obviously, I'm very passionate about archaeology. My research interests are the Archaeology of Childhood and Gender as well as the Archaeology of Northern Europe and the Arctic. What a perfect way to combine my biggest passions: Archaeology and the High North.

Besides that, I'm a foodie. I truly enjoy cooking and baking, and I'm always up for cooking something together or checking out some restaurants / cafes.
When I have time, I love spending whole days in the kitchen. Cooking amazing food while having a good drink and dancing to my "happy dancing" playlist is the perfect way to spend a day.

I also like being in nature, but I definitely prefer harsh landscapes with little vegetation.

  • cooking
  • baking
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • hitchhiking
  • tea
  • archaeology
  • aurora borealis
  • feminism
  • veganism
  • peace and love
  • escape rooms
  • arctic

Music, Movies, and Books

I love reading a lot, unfortunately I don't have much time for this due to my studies and work. One of my favorite authors is Haruki Murakami.

I like listening to Electroswing and music from the 70s. Recently, I got a bit into deep techno / tech house, and find this surprisingly amazing.

I am not a movie person at all, but I'm open to any advice.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

All my travels to Northern Europe and the Arctic have been undescribable.
Travelling to Greenland has been my biggest dream since my early childhood, and I fulfilled this dream in 2016.
I am so grateful for all the experiences I made up in the North, finding my inner peace, connecting with nature, feeling the elements of mother earth. I still feel like I haven't processed all my experiences in the North. From witnessing majestic northern lights in -30 degrees, feeling icy cold wind in my face, seeing powerful waterfalls, seeing a volcano just a few hundred meters in front of me...

Teach, Learn, Share

I have a list with things I want to learn / do once I have some free time. This list includes items such as learning to knit, learning new recipes, discovering new book genres, improving my Icelandic, learning Old Norse and following a healthier lifestyle.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Mauritius, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Iceland

Join Couchsurfing to see Maren’s full profile.

My Groups