Margaret Helwig's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 9 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Margaret’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • I manage my own guest house, grow and preserve organic fo...
  • In the school of hard knocks
  • From Dalby, Queensland, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To have my book Wildflowers, Wilderness and Wine published and travel more.

ABOUT ME

My maiden name was Mulcahy. I say I was my father's daughter for twenty years, wife to Stewart McIver and mother to our five children for twenty-five years. When he chose to end our marriage I discovered life was more than a role. Those forty-five years were spent on a cattle property near the Bunya Mountains, on farms at Bell and in the town of Dalby. I met German born Eberhard Helwig in Toowoomba and married him in 1988. He is fourteen years older than me and had already achieved his goals in life, so has encouraged me to follow my dreams. We moved to this district in 1992. I've created a huge garden, welcomed hundreds of people each year into our guest house and discovered I had a talent for marketing. Recently I have written a lifestyle book about tourism in this district. I hope the book will appeal to women wanting to relax on a terrace over looking a vineyard , with a glass of wine in their hand. I take a holiday each year, traveling independently. I spent two weeks in May of this year in China.

PHILOSOPHY

God helps those who help themselves.
All good things will not come to those who wait, even if they work like hell while waiting.
Five percent of people do, fifteen percent watch and eighty percent say "What happened."
I believe in emotional intelligence.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I will answer queries for overseas travelers wishing to visit southern Queensland and welcome them to use my couch, if available.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've never yet tried the couch surfing experience, although I have stayed with friends in Europe, Canada, the USA and New Zealand.

Interests

Gardens, food, reading and writing, needlework

  • writing
  • books
  • dining
  • wine
  • baking
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • surfing
  • tourism
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

History and lifestyle books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've ridden a horse up Jade Dragon Snow Mountain in Yunnan, China - the nearest snow capped mountain to the equator while on holiday in 2007.

Teach, Learn, Share

I teach bread baking, growing and preserving foods.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Canada, China, Fiji, France, Germany, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Margaret’s full profile. It’s free!