Marga Sk's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marga’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 14 References 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Greek (modern); learning Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Student
  • Graduated from school in Greece and now studying Civil En...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Get through university, travel, meet people and experience new things!

ABOUT ME

I'm half Greek and half English, but lived all my life on a lovely island in Greece. That is up until September 2010! Since then I have been living in Edinburgh, studying Civil Engineering. I like to think of myself as the adventurous kind, I absolutely LOVE traveling, discovering new places, new cultures, meeting new people, sharing experiences. Other than that I love all types of sports and anything to do with the great outdoors! Unfortunately I don't have enough space to put people up in the flat I'm living in, but if anyone is passing through EDinburgh and would like a coffee or a "guided" walk through the lovely parks let me know and if I have time it would be my pleasure to show you around! :)

PHILOSOPHY

"The Journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step."
Lao Tzu

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones that you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover."
Mark Twain

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Until now, I've surfed several couches in France and given advice on forums and such, mainly about the Greek islands. I also couch surfed in London. Hopefully I'll be able to give back some of the great hospitality I've had soon by hosting people!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Couchsurfed for 13 days in the south of France (March-April 2011) I met some wonderful people and had some great experiences! Also met up with a group of couchsurfers while I was in France and we hitch-hiked from Montpellier to a nearby village. Fantastic experience and truly lovely people...

Interests

Running, TRAVELING, basketball, walking, sailing, cycling, geography, maths, guitar (trying to reteach myself, if anyone wants to help please :) ), gym, baking, reading, cooking, drawing, emailing and skyping friends and many many more...

  • cooking
  • recipes
  • coffee
  • baking
  • running
  • walking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • eating out
  • socializing
  • drawing
  • guitar
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • sailing
  • sports
  • basketball
  • engineering
  • geography
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • parks

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - It depends on the time and place, but I'll generally listen to most types of music. Jazz, oldies and classical when studying, mainstream when partying or doing housework :)

Movies - Forest Gump, The Pianist, Sex & the City films, Chocolat, etc. Again, not too picky!

Books - Memoirs of a Geisha, September Girls, Greek literature and lots more. I love reading, fiction or non fiction, magazines, newspapers, things on the internet!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sunrise in the middle of summer in Naxos, after a full moon night. The peacefulness of the time and just watching the light slowly slowly creeping up on you always gives me such a boost and an energizing feeling.

Elephants in Ghana :D

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach - Definitely some Greek or English (and maybe some French?!)! I'm quite good at cooking (or I like to think I am :) ), so could share some recipes etc. ,

Learn - Seriously, anything you've got to offer! I'm always up for learning new skills / languages, anything really...

Share - Travel experiences, good tips, a pot of tea/coffee :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Cambodia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Ghana, Greece, Italy, Lithuania, Malta, Morocco, Netherlands, Philippines, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Ghana, Greece, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Marga’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups