Margriet Maarsingh's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Margriet’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 37 References 26 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, Dutch, English, German; learning Latin, Spanish
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • job in organic supermarket and adventurer
  • by my schoolteachers, parents, living my life and by seve...
  • From Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

learning and exploring while traveling the world

ABOUT ME

When not traveling I work in an organic supermarket whenever they call me (which is quite a lot...). I'm mostly able to listen to my heart and do what I feel is good at that moment. I love traveling and do that a lot. Like to meet interesting people and see a lot of places all over the world. I´m interested in a natural way of life with nice people around me and organic food. I don't like eating meat, eggs and dairy but don't mind when people around me do so. Our kitchen is used to having different people preparing lots of different things in it. One day I'd like to settle down somewhere and live there in an (almost) sustainable way.

PHILOSOPHY

I try to live my life honestly, both to myself and to others, by following my heart and doing what feels good at the moment. I'm an open person and very interested in others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I already surfed a few couches which turned out to be real beds in the most cases! Very much enjoyed hosting travelers when I'm in my home town! Also used the network twice to connect with people and travel together for a while.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I surfed in Amsterdam, NYC, LA, Honolulu and quite a few other places and hope to host a lot of travelers in the future. Looking forward to get to meet more fellow travelers and show them my town and country!

Interests

Skiing, snowboarding, (hitch)hiking, traveling, animals, children, alternative medicines, singing, organic food, gardening, health, languages (in general and Afrikaans in particular!), riding my unicycle, playing my ukulele, singing and much more.

  • animals
  • singing
  • dining
  • organic food
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • pottery
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • languages
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: I love reading. Most of the books I read are about natural medicines, plants, spirituality...
Movies: I like watching movies although there is one little problem. I sometimes don't get to understand the whole story... Some movies I like a lot are "Amelie", "Into the wild", "The Hurricane" and "Grizzly man".
Music: Always difficult to remember names of musicians I like... Jack Johnson, Bob Dylan, Johnny Cash, Lucky Fonz III. Better is asking Timo (in my friendslist).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Lots of amazing things I've done. Spending eight months volunteering in Spain on organic farms with my friend Timo was a great experience! Skiing in Whistler (Canada) was a different thing but also wonderful! Traveling!
Surfed a perfect couch in Manhattan 1,5 week!
Cycling the Cape Argus Tour around Cape Peninsula in Cape Town!
Too many things to list here I think actually...

Teach, Learn, Share

Well, I can ski, can teach you how to do pottery on a turning wheel (although I don't have a wheel at home...), know quite a bit about natural foods...
I'm always learning and I love doing that. I'm meeting so many interesting people all over the world and I hope I'll be able to keep doing that.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Botswana, Canada, Denmark, England, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Lesotho, Namibia, New Zealand, Qatar, Seychelles, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Tonga, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands, New Zealand, South Africa, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    5 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Margriet’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups