Maria's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 12 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria’s full profile.


  • 19 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Romanian; learning French, German
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2021
  • Student
  • Carol Davila University of Medicine and Pharmacy
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

~~ PLEASE read this before requesting, thank you ~~ since my brother is a student, and we are sharing the apartment, I have to also take his feelings into consideration. That is, more often than not I cannot host since he is not comfortable with people he does not know being around. So if you think of messaging me, I would recommend also looking for back up plans in case I cannot offer you a place. You are totally welcome if I am alone. Thanks

Hi, I am Maria (Mary) and I guess I thought my life was not interesting enough, therefore I decided to go to med school and graduated this year. Grew up around Bucharest and have been living in the city for quite some years, but (sadly) I do not resonate with the city so am probably not going to be your best guide; but I can recommend a couple of my favorite places.

Since I do not live alone (and nowadays am almost never by myself), last minute requests might not work as they would have to be talked through with my brother. I also do not have a fixed schedule and am usually out of the house most of the day, which is another reason why I prefer requests/messages more than a couple of days in advance.

Maybe one of the biggest pringles / peanut butter / caramel / flat white fans.

Side info - been taught and raised to be nice and polite to people and it can sometimes come across as me wanting more. I don't ☺

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It started out as a means to go out of my comfort zone for a little when it comes to visiting places and seeing people; ended up being a really nice way of getting to know other people and cultures and have an overall good time

I have met some super nice people on here and it is always lovely to listen to others' stories. Unfortunately I do not have a group of friends who are down for random getaways, and being alone in new places can get a bit lonely, so having someone to share the experience with in some sort of way makes things easier.

I believe this world can be tough enough already so I try to do my best and leave a good impression on whomever I meet through this platform

People always say I have a great vibe and they like spending their time with me; concerts and coffee hangouts are a yes.


  • concerts
  • education
  • board games
  • hiking
  • medicine
  • art

Music, Movies, and Books

My music taste is quite a cocktail, could not put it into words even if I tried

I do not usually watch movies, I prefer series and House MD, The mentalist, Grimm, Prison break, Harrow are basically my favorites

1984 & Fahrenheit 451 are books I probably will not ever forget. I also enjoy the Bronte sisters, other classics, and also YA books, why not

if you got anything to recommend i am listening!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

people think of me as a safe place so there's that

Teach, Learn, Share

Been into foreign languages as a kid which lead to me thinking I can master German, but it's still much work. Feel free to give tips if you can speak it better than me.

We have a guitar at home that we don't play that much nowadays, but will gladly let people have a go at it. I will gladly share med facts and we can always try to organize a games night if you're into that.

I have always been fascinated about .. everything, really, so I will probably listen to what ever stories or knowledge you would want to share with me.

used to dance as a kid so i would love to have someone to practice with again

What I Can Share with Hosts

There will probably be coffee and peanut butter around the house at all times
There's always a couple of card / board games in the house
We can get lost in the city together as even I have trouble finding my way sometimes

Countries I’ve Visited

Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Netherlands

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Maria’s full profile.

My Groups