Mariia Koliak's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mariia’s full profile.

Overview

  • 13 references 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Ukrainian; learning English, French, Slovak
  • 21, Female
  • Member since 2022
  • I am volunteer
  • Studied to be a foreign translator
  • From Odessa, Odessa, Ukraine
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

My name is Maria. Now I live in Slovakia, in the small city Stará Ľubovňa. But I was born in Odesa, Ukraine.

At the moment I have gap year. I studied to be a translator of French and English languages. In the 4th year of study I took the documents because I realized that this is not the direction I want to do.

I have a lot of volunteer experience. For 2 years I organized actions and events for young people. Together with other people, we helped animals, nature and people. For example, we went to an animal shelter, cleaned the park, and distributed food to people in need. I was at a camp where we were helping to rebuild a family home. It was a very cool event, because you meet people from different parts of the country. I really like what I do. Although I am often exhausted in the evening, I'm so happy, because I understand that my day was very useful.

Now I am a volunteer for the European Solidarity Corps. My volunteering lasts for 10 months. From this period I want to make the most of: travel to different countries and meet new people.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

"People need people" - for me it is a cool description of this application Сouchserfing.

Because no one will tell about the city better than a local. He knows great places to visit and other life hacks of life in the city. This allows you to learn more about the country than others.

I like traveling as It is the inspiration and step to something new for me. In my opinion, discovering new places around the world is so important for everyone. Because it is an acquaintance with new culture, new people. This is new unforgettable experience.

When you learn about other cultures, places, you become an internally rich person.

Interests

  • photography
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • dance
  • reading books
  • theatre
  • sea
  • listing music

Music, Movies, and Books

Movie:
I love watching comedies and adventure movies. I hate horrors movies and don´t like thrillers. But sometimes I can watch fantasy movies. My favorite movies is "Love Rosie" , "Before Me", "I Feel Pretty", "Isn't It Romantic", "Divergent" (all part).

Also I like cartoons "Sing", "Ratatouille", "Ballerina", "Coco" etc.

Music:
I usually listen to music by Ed Sheeran, Imagine Dragons, James Arthur, Shawn Mendes, Adele.
I listen to Ukrainian bands and artists such as "Odyn v kanoe", "Kazka", Grohotsky, Monatik, Laud and etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

For 1 day I decided to move abroad and take part in the international volunteering program for 10 months
Went on an first solo trip abroad around Poland and visited 3 cities – Krakow, Wroclaw and Warsawa

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my experience of youth work and volunteering.

I can teach you to cook traditional Ukrainian dishes - I can do that very well.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, France, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine

Countries I’ve Lived In

Slovakia, Ukraine

Join Couchsurfing to see Mariia’s full profile.