Maria Martens's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 18 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References
  • Fluent in English, Swedish; learning Italian, Spanish
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Fill in Teacher
  • Studying to become an Highschool Teacher
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello my name is Maria and I'm 22 years old I'm studying to become an History and Social science teacher for Hichschool. Coupled with my studies I'm also working as a Babysitter for two kids in the ages of 6 and 11 and working as a fill in teacher for a kindergarten and classes in a school the year groups 1-9.

I also love animals (have a cat) even the most exotic ones like Lions and wolfs. I'm also a pretty big fantasy and scifi nerd and I can devour books (and movies/series) like harry potter and hunger games in a breakneck speed. My favourite hobby is theatre since my friends there are beautifully quirky and the feeling you get while standing on stage and basking in the spotlight is priceless.

I love meeting new people and socialising which is one of the reason I love teaching and traveling so much. One of my big dreams in life is too travel the whole world since I know that the only way to really understand a culture, society and history of a place is to visit and experience it for myself. The past year alone I have always felt myself drawn out to travel and seeing everything the world has to offer and starting in Europe.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Because I love traveling and my dream is to someday travel the whole world. Also life is so much more fun if I can meet new and exiting friends all over the world and learn more about the history, culture and society from the host itself. Also in meeting new people from other countries I'm participating in the culture and language exchange which makes me better as a person since my knowledge and viewpoint of the world will broaden.

Interests

Theatre, travel to new and exotic places and also being with my friends and finding new friends in Sweden and other countries

Music, Movies, and Books

I really enjoy books, movies and series about Fantasy and scifi like Harry Potter, Star wars, Hunger games, Doctor who, Stargate SG1 etc.

My favourite music bands are: Blackmore's Night, Sabaton and Amalee etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Skiing in a really dangerous black skiing path in Austria's Alphs.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help with your English and teach you about my hometown and country. Also since I would love to experience the city to the fullest it would be dun to hear stories and learning more about the country I'm visiting from the host itself. Maybe some tips for fun places to visit and some hidden gems only the host inhabitants would know of

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can help with improving english with communication both in Speech and writing. I can also teach you about Swedish culture, society and history, since I'm studying those aspects in school in depth. Also every time I visit and live with people in other countries I make it a point to bring an present that is typically Swedish.

I'm willing to help with many chores that you want help in like cleaning and vacuuming. Also I can show my favourite recipes and meals from Sweden if you want help with cooking.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Brazil, Denmark, England, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria’s full profile. It’s free!