Maria Volovikova's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria’s full profile.

Overview

  • 36 references 33 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Russian; learning English
  • 42, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • I work as a designer. I create designs for kitchens.
  • I got the teaching profession drawing and art history.
  • From Novo-Nikolaevka, Astrakhan, Russian Federation
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Each day offers so many possibilities. I want to do everything!

ABOUT ME

We are two friends: Maria and Olga.
My name is Maria. I love seeing beautiful landscapes. The sea attracts me. I like to be given a motorbike ride along the river in the evening when the fresh breeze hits my face and I smell the wet meadows.

Olga is a teacher of painting and art history at an art school. There is so much information in her head about sculpture, painting and architecture that I envy her. She taught me passion for learning new things.
She is also a great cook. She collects recipes from around the world. It is always nice to deal with her, she can cook something from Russian (or other) cuisine for you. 

We like meeting new people on a journey to learn from their experience, hear their stories and learn something unknown.

PHILOSOPHY

I think the most important thing in life is a creation.
I believe in friendship.
Friends is the family we choose.
The more we give to others, the more we get in return.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I can take 2 guests.
Of course I'll make Russian dinner. When I have a weekend, I can show you the museum and also rural and urban surroundings.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

For the first time, we realized how it works in traveling to Italy with Olga in 2013. We met wonderful local people! It was such an amazing experience that as soon as I began to live independently, I also began to invite travelers to my home.
This is a great way to meet people close to me in spirit. And each new friend is a new look at the world. We are all so different and are identical at the same time.
It is also always nice and fun to cook together. Regardless of whether I have guests or I am a guest myself.
And besides, I travel, staying at home when I listen to the stories of my guests.

Interests

I love looking at the stars. Have you seen your zodiacal constellation in the sky? I'll show you the constellation Taurus, Gemini, Leo ..., if the moon will not shine. But in different months, we can see different constellations.

I also like the river spill in the spring. And I like to feel the breeze, when I'm standing on a cliff near the sеа, ocean or rivers.

I often dream of sailing, although I've never sailed in my life. I hope sometime in the future ...

  • arts
  • architecture
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • painting
  • sailing
  • rivers

Music, Movies, and Books

Irving Stone, Erich Maria Remarque, Jack London, Stefan Zweig, Ernest Hemingway.
I'm also a fan of Greek myths. I think that on a subconscious level, it's something to do with my past lives.
One of the movies: Ocean's Eleven Friends. Because I worked in a casino a lot of years ago. I like the spirit of adventure in this movie.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I was above the clouds and saw how they form, appear and disappear over the pico Ruivo, almost at my very feet!

I saw from the boat how herring fish from the distant sea go to spawn against the river and filled with themselves almost the whole river for three days!

Long ago on my Egyptian journey, taxi drivers laughed at me, because I could not even say three words in English. Then I made a decision, and I was able to learn spoken English without a teacher. Because more than anything, I wanted to travel!

Teach, Learn, Share

I will teach you to use the sky map.
And if you like, Olga and I will teach you how to cook Russian pelmeni or Russian pancakes or Ukrainian borsch.

And yes! I have a second profession. I am browmaster for women. And I can make your eyebrows beautiful. Let me know if you want it.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my time, space in my apartment and, if you want, my experience and knowledge.

Please let me know if you are a vegan or a vegetarian. Once I came to my host with a big suitcase in one hand and a big stick of sausage in the other hand. But the owner turned out to be vegan ... This is ridiculous, as in a joke! But he was left without any present, and I was confused.

Countries I’ve Visited

Egypt, Greece, Indonesia, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Ukraine

Countries I’ve Lived In

Russian Federation

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria’s full profile.

My Groups