Maria Polivanovskaya's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria’s full profile.

Overview

  • 15 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Russian
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Business (Account) Manager
  • International Economics & Business
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Well, where to start... I'm a Business Manager (Supply Chain Management) in an international company (started working in Russia, then spent a year in Germany, then went back to Russia, and now I am in the US; - same company, new challenges). So, logistics, calculating, solution design, data analysis is what I do, and I love what I do. Also, I enjoy cooking and baking, and I have actually finished a professional one-year cookery course in a college with a diploma of a chef and pastry chef. So, if you have run out of ideas what to have for dinner or are looking for some advice, then you know who to ask for. Finally, I'm a keen learner of English and am really interested in different cultures. I am an amateur photographer (I take a lot of photos when I travel), - when I was a kid, my Dad and I used to "print" photos at home, with all these special chemicals and red light, and all that stuff... and then dry the photos on the string. So, yes, I like photography: street, nature, black and white... Another reason behind my love towards photography is that I am the eyes of my family and close friends. Luckily, I can afford travelling from time to time, surely not luxurious, but my parents and relatives - they rarely have an opportunity to find time or money, or what is more important energy and courage to travel. So, I'm always trying to catch the moment for them. I also have some art education, but I am more interested in abstract art, graphics, light installation, design - where color, shape and physical matter plays a great role.

So, I'd be really glad to meet new people and to look at the places through their eyes, to learn more about hidden gems of the areas they live in.

My passion for travelling (rare though) and cooking is supported by my degree in cooking and pastry arts. This is one of the reasons why travelling for me often means culinary discoveries. I try to read a lot about cooking, baking, nutrition and related, and, of course, I cook a lot, and I do enjoy cooking together with friends and close ones. Cuisines and tastes developed in the countries over the years and centuries can tell much as well as the company of locals.

I believe we need to collect moments, emotions, and feelings rather than things. We can live without most of them, at the same time I may love certain material creations, especially when it is related to arts, e.g. jewellery, but this will never replace the feeling of joy when someone is happy with what you have done or brought from a distant country or tell them.

I really enjoy spending time with people who are passionate about their hobbies and interests, work, experience, places where they live. Personally, I can talk about cooking and food for hours...

So, I hope to meet many interesting people. I must admit that I find travelling solo more convenient because you can optimise the routes and time, but I can easily adapt to the situation and agree on the better way of dealing with the interests of all the parties. I am not a very exacting traveller, and I don't like to disturb people a lot (this trait must have come from my grandma!), but if you need help I will try to lend you a helping hand.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Travelling is a perfect way to learn more about different countries and cultures, to get inspired by experience of other people and societies as well as to familiarise other people with Russian culture. It's a great chance to learn from each other and spread the knowledge together with ideas, understanding, and views. When you face something different, you question your life, you develop, you help developing.

Also, no matter how physically exhausting my trip is, I enjoy it, especially if I have my favourite music with me. My favourite road music is one of an old Russian band, not existing anymore, unfortunately, yet their lyrics were the very right for their times, and they still can be translated into contemporary realities, they are out of time. I'll be glad to tell about them, if you want. U2 - Pride is also a cool song to travel with.

Interests

Professional Cooking and Baking (I have a mostly food and travelling-related Instagram account: http://instagram.com/limeandthyme)

Cultures and cuisines

Linguistics

Art & Design

Photography (black&white, architecture, nature, food): https://www.flickr.com/photos/polivanovskaya/

  • arts
  • culture
  • architecture
  • design
  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • baking
  • running
  • partying
  • traveling
  • music

Music, Movies, and Books

Many films make me laugh, think, and change. The same refers to music, which can change my heart, mood and intentions. Basically, in every genre there is something that I like. I like British, French and Italian films the most, yet I don't mind a good American one. And Til Schweiger's films are really good too. Soviet comedies are also among my favourites. As for the books, Fahrenheit 451 is definitely one of the best I have ever read. However, at the moment my favourite book is "I'm the messenger". I like novels written by Saltykov-Schedrin, a Russian novelist.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Having a Diploma in Economics, I also graduated from a cookery college! Yay!

Teach, Learn, Share

Learn new things!
Don't be afraid of mistakes!
Challenge yourself!
Be patient and careful!

What I Can Share with Hosts

My (cooking) knowledge
My knowledge of Russia(n)
Certain experience (?)
Positive attitude

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Russian Federation, San Marino, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Russian Federation, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria’s full profile.