Maria Vishnevskiy's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 66% response rate
  • Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria’s full profile.


  • 3 references
  • Fluent in English, French, Russian; learning Spanish
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Environmental engineer by day, rock climbing ninja by nig...
  • Master's Degree in environmental engineering
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me



My personality is 50% laughing, 25% outdoor mischief, and 25% social interaction. I think human connection is vital for happiness, and I'm interested in exploring the pros and cons of availability of human connection in different cultures.

I am very intense - in a good way :) I get really into whatever I'm doing. When I travel, I fall in love with every place I see and never want to leave - but then I pack up and go and do the same thing when I get somewhere else. I love the people I'm with and hate goodbyes. But at the same time I think change is fun and thrive on learning new things. I think it is a good way to live!

If you ask me if I'm a morning or evening person - I will say morning most days. I love having a sneak preview to the day, seeing the sunrise, hearing the first birds, enjoying the quiet before everyone wakes up and fills the streets. But I also LOVE the feeling of sleeping in and having a lazy cup of late morning coffee while sitting on the porch.

I get along well with people of a wide range of ages and have best friends who are much younger and much older than me. Still haven't figured out why this is.

I have lived on the east and west coasts of the US before settling in Kansas City with my husband for the time being.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I met some couchsurfers when I was traveling around Australia in 2014. I haven't used it much since then, but recently reactivated my account to connect with like-minded travelers and locals in the Kansas City area.


I love the mountains first but also feel a pull to the ocean. I try to spend most of my free time outside but also like writing, and board games!

Top activities: rock climbing, scuba diving, and road biking!

  • birds
  • arts
  • writing
  • dancing
  • yoga
  • traveling
  • knitting
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • backpacking
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • engineering
  • beaches
  • mountains
  • stand-up paddleboarding

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

*There is a winding river in the small town of Nachni, Uttarakhand, India, where the temperature is always perfect, there are no bugs, and the water is blue and perfect and infinite. They were building a road through the area the last time I went, so I am scared that it is noisy and dusty and different now, but I will always have the memory of myself sitting on a rock by the river in the middle of the night, listening to the water and looking up at the Himalayan stars.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, England, Finland, France, India, Italy, Malaysia, Mexico, Nepal, Philippines, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Russian Federation, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria’s full profile.

My Groups