Maria Angoso

Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning Italian, Portuguese
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Enjoying each moment!
  • With care and wisdom
  • From Madrid, Spain
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Be happy


I am Spanish, yes, I like fiesta, beers to be with and meet new people but I am different to my Spanish friends in one thing: I love my country as much as they do, but I needed something more than the common live. I not just needed to travel but I needed to experience and live how other people live, learn about their cultural differences, their day to day customs and habits and for this is the reason why I needed to leave Spain behind.

The first time I lived abroad I was 21 and went to Roue n(France) to continue with my business studies and get more specialized in Commerce. This city and the experience I had their, turn on an inside flame which couldn't be turn of, so my next step was clear…go somewhere else. In moved to Paris where I had my first professional experience in a leading market research company. This allowed me to discover one of the most beautiful cities in the world, but more than that to live like a Parisian. I enjoyed this experience a lot with my Colombian, Spanish, Dutch, German..etc friends but I felt it wasn't my place.

So ... I continued with my professional path and went back home to finish my bachelors and get into the finance world with Ernst & Young (one of the big four). In less than a couple months I realized it wasn’t what I was made for, so decided to open a door that could give me the opportunity in my live go far, far from Europe....a Master degree with an internship in the Spanish Trade Commission of somewhere around the world (the destination was unknown and would be determined at the end of the Master)...and luckily enough it was Hong Kong! So I moved there....

This was the year of my live without a doubt! I got to live the challenge of understanding, learning and adapting to the Chinese culture. Although it wasn't easy, I tried to stay away from the ex-pat live to live as much as possible as a local as well as trying to discover every weekend a new country, city, place...and so I did! Hong Kong couldn`t be a better spot to discover south East Asia.
I wouldn’t change a day of this unforgettable experience, every day was a learning day and opened my mind a bit more to others and change my way of seeing life accepting the differences of others, no matter how different they are to ours. As much as I loved it, it wasn’t my place either so I kept exploring....

Why not try the extreme opposite... a country with space, lots of nature, slow pacing rhythm of life and very cold winters.... Canada! Since I first visit this country I loved the people and mentality. But where in Canada? A place that could have a bit of the American and European touch and where I could continue improving my languages.... Montreal!

I moved with a Business Analyst position at Specialized Bicycles, a cycling company that gave me the best conditions to adapt well to Canadian lifestyle... to get more involved in the outdoor, sports culture, leaving a bit behind the big parties, daily drinks and the time to discover how to live life a different way.... Changing a 5 a 7 beer by sailing, cycling skiing, roller blading or yoga after work...and a late nights and hangover weekend by a canoe-camping weekend in wild, with a camp-fire or a weekend at a cabin with friends going for a hike...not a bad life either:)

Now I can consider myself a cyclist and more active in sports I have tried sports that I didn't even know that they existed and have enjoyed weekend out in the woods with nothing else than a book. I have learned and appreciated to be with myself, without the need of always being. Very valuable experience for a partying Spaniard:)

After 2 years and a half lived in Montreal, on top of my personal development I have developed my professional career and think I found the industry that allows me to be best at what I enjoy doing. I am working in a digital marketing agency as a Paid Media Data & Analytics Marketing analyst since several months ago and I love what I do!

For now, I will continue to grow and develop in Canada while waiting for my residence and will continue to think of my next adventure where I will go back to my core interest in live which is to travel, explore and share new experiences and ways of living with new friends and people!

One thing I know for sure is that Winter in not made for a Spaniard:)


Share love, share a smile! Its free and its never enough!and...Carpe Diem - always enjoy the moment!Its for you to decide how to make the most out of each situation!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Although I have the account since a couple of years I am pretty new:)


Being with people doing whatever:partying, grabbing a beer, a nice dinner, outdoor activities and sports,sharing new experiences wherever it is, and if its travelling and explore new lands, or trying new things, even better:)

Music, Movies, and Books

Think Fast and Slow
All types of music depending on the mood, Dance for Fiesta, Jazz to chill and rock to sing!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Scuba Diving with turtles, whale sharks, all size and colour fishes...I love the feeling of being in the water (swimming), above water (sailing ) or feeling like a mermaid (diving)!

The best places I have experience these things where:
- El Nido in Palawan Philippines enjoying the best swims in the most paradise beaches.
- Balearic islands in the Mediterranean and Sardinia for sailing for days, waking up with dolphins at the bow of the ship and enjoying the sunset with a mojito.

- Kotakinabalu (Malasyian Borneo), Isla de Providencia (Colombia) and Legazpi (philippines) for the best diving with turtles, whale sharks, coral murals, all kind and coloured sea creatures...

Last but not least, Trip around Thailand with some of my best friends - Full Moon Party - an unforgettable trip!
- Thailand

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Cambodia, Canada, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Malaysia, Philippines, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, China, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups