Marián Žido M.D.'s Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marián’s full profile.

Overview

  • 18 references 18 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Slovak; learning Russian
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Medical Doctor
  • University of Pavol Jozef Šafaárik, Košice, Slovakia
  • From Košice, Košice, Slovakia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello lovely people, welcome to my profile. My name is Marian, I'm a medical doctor 👨‍⚕️ specializing in the internal medicine (I would be surprised, if you knew, what I do - but basicaly - I do it ALL - heart, lungs, stomach, kidneys etc. mainly conservatively with tablets).
My lovely wife Zuzana is expert at Railway transport 🚅 and currently studying PhD. (she also wants to be a doctor 🤣) Her CS profile: https://couchsurfing.page.link/yu1kgCqx1GSAHJTb9

We are keen cyclists🚴🏻‍♂️🚴🏼‍♀️, but let's specify it: we are mainly using BICYCLE 🚲 as a form of transport. We commute by bike, doing grocery, visting family, going out or to concert.
We also want to stay fit and strong, we like to train hard in the mountains and hills, fighting against wind and everything, that awaits you on the road.
We are also bike travellers 🚵 (and that's maij reason, why you are reading this profile):
We started to travel by bike at 2017, we cycled 192km, climbed 1800m and spent 4 days in wine region of Tokaj (beautiful region close to our hometown). We liked it so much and since then we travelled every year at least once by bicycles. Here is a list of our Bike-travels:

2017
- Tokaj (🇸🇰) (192km, 1,800m, 4 dni)

2018
- Poloniny (🇸🇰) (368km, 4,100m, 4 dni)

2019
- #zoslovenskadoslovinska Bratislava - Maribor- Ljubkana - Bled💍- Vršič Pass - Venezia - Padova (🇸🇰 🇭🇺 🇦🇹 🇸🇮 🇮🇹) (1024km, 7,500m, 13 days)
- Košice-Dubnica (🇸🇰) (468km, 4,590m, 5 days)

2020
- Around the 🇸🇰 & visiting 🇵🇱 and 🇭🇺 (1250km, 10,000m, 12 days)

2021
- Following Inn and Danube River - Salzburg-Passau-Wien-Nové mesto nad Váhom (🇦🇹 🇩🇪 🇸🇰) (742km, 2,650m, 9 days)

2022
- Žilina-Václavovice-Zlín-Svinná-Žilina (🇸🇰 🇨🇿) (383km, 2,656m, 4 days)
- Alpin adventure Innsbruck-Vaduz-Bolzano (🇦🇹🇭🇹🇨🇭🇮🇹) (1000km, 18,500m, 14 days)

- CURRENTLY NOT HOSTING - WE ARE CYCLING IN THE ALPS FROM 1.8.-17.8.2022

We started to travel by bicycle as students and didn't have much money and REALLY wanted to save money. But after a short moment we understood this community : It's about sharing. What one gives you, he will recieve back from other person. We still love to stay with interesting local people, eat local food and see, how different are peoples' lives not so far away from our home.

We are open-minded, flexible, talkative (even thoug travelling all the day on the bike). We want to listen it ALL: stories, experiences, memories and recommendations. We want to enjoy local food with a little bit of wine and beer. Warm shower and comfy bed is all we need.

Your sincerely, Marian&Zuzana

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We love to travel by bicycle through Europe countries and we just don't want to stay all the time at hotels, but want to be with locals, enjoy food, stories and everything else with some beautiful people from this Community.

Providing shelter for travelers (especially bike-travellers) enlighten our day-to-day life. We are very welcoming and sharing. And also we are giving bsck, what we got from others.

Interests

ROAD Cycling 🚲 : training, racing, commuting, traveling
MUSIC 🎼 : I play the piano and organ and used to compose some music long ago...
CHEMISTRY 🧬 : I was preparing student on entry exams fot Medical school, but stopped to do so after my graduation.
CHESS ♟️ : I'm big fan of a game and like to play online and over the board.
READING 📓 : During non-hectic times I love to read books : fantasy, sci-fi, history and non-fictional.

My IG: https://www.instagram.com/dr.cyclist_/
My FB:
https://www.facebook.com/mudr.marian.zido

  • traveling
  • music
  • classical music
  • jazz
  • piano
  • cycling
  • chemistry
  • medicine
  • health
  • improvisation
  • organ
  • road biking
  • road cycling
  • talking with people
  • diet

Music, Movies, and Books

MUSIC ( I'm "a demanding listener") :
🔴 Classical music - Bach, Beethoven, Rachmaninoff, Tchaikovski and all of the greatests'
🔴 Jazz - gypsy, funky, groovy, classical, contemporary

MOVIES :
I don´t really care, but I like complex or psychological movies, also like biographical movies but I´d watch nearly anything.

READING :
Currently reading: Narnia, 7th (last) book.
I read:
Hobit, Lord of the Rings, Hunger games...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

1. I married Zuzana ❤️
2. Our first long cycling trip 🚵‍♂️🚵‍♀️ (2019) was great experience, and we fell in love with traveling by bicycle since then (we also got engaged during our trip 🤫)
3. I graduated University 👨‍🎓
4. I played a part from Mozart Piano concerto with Orchestra 🎹: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rdDtqyWAE8I

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share knowledge from medicine (but I'm not arguing stupid opinions from self-educated epidemiologist and pharmacists...).
I can help you with chemistry.
It can be funny to teach foreigners to pronounce Slovak words, we cna teach you all the basics you need.

What I Can Share with Hosts

1. Shower
2. Dinner and breakfast (if staying longer than 1 night, we will agree together)
3. Shelter and comfy king-size couch
4. Our recommodations and help

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Poland, Slovenia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Slovakia

Join Couchsurfing to see Marián’s full profile.

My Groups