Marie Dohm's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 41% response rate
  • Last login 13 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marie’s full profile.

Overview

  • 38 references 29 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Behavior Technician, Student (grad school)
  • Michigan State University- Kinesiology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi, I am Marie, a Michigan State grad who moved out to the mountains in Colorado the minute she could. I've been here for over 5 years now and have really embraced the opportunity to go on amazing hikes, backpack trips, camp, raft, ski, play beach volleyball, and more right out my back door. I do all these things as much as I can when I’m not pet sitting or working. I am outgoing, practical, energetic, and respectful. I am an accepting person and love meeting new people. Definitely feel free to message me and stay in the guest bedroom, or for a meet up or just for some local advice! My husband and I are both on Couchsurfing and we love sharing our love for the rocky mountains (or local food/drink tips) with others.

Side note: I marked that I have pets but I don’t really. I’m often pet sitting though so I want guests to be prepared.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Because I believe that there's no reason to pay for a hotel when you could meet a local and have a unique experience instead!

Interests

I love to get outdoors and be active: hiking, skiing, volleyball, backpacking, etc.
I also enjoy traveling when I can, having good food/drinks, and live music.
I work on improving behavior with kids with disabilities, primarily autism, and I truly enjoy learning more about my field and its new developments.

  • culture
  • dining
  • wine
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • canoeing
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • soccer
  • tennis
  • volleyball
  • beach volleyball
  • brunch
  • rafting
  • hot springs

Music, Movies, and Books

Music-wise its hard to clash with me. I'm easygoing and like a bit of everything :)
I also, of course, love the Beatles and Avett Brothers. I love any music if it’s live!

Favorite quote:
"You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough."
-Mae West

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Back in college I did a 3 day, 160 mile canoe/kayak race with a friend. Only 19/42 teams were able to finish the race, and we were one of them. It was amazing to push myself so hard, and bond with the friend that I did it with. We were so sore we vowed never to put ourselves through it again..so of course we signed up and completed the race the following year as well!

Another amazing thing I’ve done is I met my husband through Couchsurfing! I brought him backpacking with some friends and we bonded! Now he has immigrated from France and lives here with me!

Teach, Learn, Share

Share: advice about the area
Learn: I love hearing your travel stories, and just getting to know new people in general

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am very friendly and respectful. I will be a good guest, and clean up after myself. I have good stories, an open mind, and a beer to bring (or other drink of choice).

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Germany, Iceland, Italy

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Marie’s full profile.