Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marie & Sophie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 17 References 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • World Travellers
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

We're a couple travelling around Australia in a supa cool camper van (with solar panel & fridge)! We're currently chasing after the sun on the East coast and slowly going North for wintertime!
We're looking forward to meeting locals on the way, people that can show us around their town & spend some time with us.
We don't really need a room to stay in as we can sleep in our van but access to a hot shower is always appreciated! :)

Marie: I'm 25 years old, I grew up in the South of France with two brothers.
"To love Geminis, listen to them attentively, and with expansive flexibility. Don't try to force them to be consistent; encourage them to experiment at uniting their sometimes conflicting urges. As best as you can, express appreciation not just for the parts of them that are easy to love but also for the parts that are not yet ripe or charming." Rob bresny pretty much summarized everything you should know about me, just one more thing: I don't really believe in astrology!

Sophie: I'm a 29 year-old French girl (from Paris but no, no, I'm not a Parisian) who left her homeland 11 years ago to embrace what Europe has to offer. I studied politics in England for 4 years, spent 1 crazy Erasmus year in Germany and enjoyed 5 chilled out years in Spain. I'm a pretty quiet and calm person (compared to Marie haha) but I'd be more than happy to get to know new people around a glass (or bottle ^^,) of wine and a few nibbles!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Marie:
I did CS in South America mostly, my first experience was with my brother in Brazil and for me it was incredible to discover this whole new way of travelling. We met so many nice people, families,... You meet someone for the first time and two second after you're family. Brazilian are the best!

The year after I went backpacking with my best friend in Peru and we were hosted by an amazing couple in Cuzco, in only one week we lived the whole CS experience (CS meeting, language exchange, volunteering,..). We were won over.

Since then we hosted some amazing people in Madrid and hope to be able to get to know more Australians in our journey around their great country!

Sophie: I think getting to know a city/region/country through the eyes of locals is always better :) + Travelling whilst you're young and broke can be quite challenging and CS seems to be a great idea to enable people to visit amazing places without ruining themselves. CS is enriching culturally and socially, so why not try it heh?

Interests

Hiking, camping, swimming, cooking, reading, wine, making toasties, walking barefoot, running (with shoes) !

Music, Movies, and Books

Music : Ben Harper, Bob Marley, Tracy Chapman, Danakil, Chico Cesar, Pink, Lifehouse,..

Movies : Freedom writers, Remember the Titans, Little Miss Sunshine, Nos jours heureux, Into the Wild, Out of Africa, The Help,...

Books : La consolante - Anna Gavalda, complete collection of Amélie nothomb's book, Rien de grave - Justine Levy,

TV Shows: Scandal, Private Practice, Grey's Anatomy, Breaking Bad, Shameless, The L Word, Orphan Black

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Marie: I was lucky enough to see LAS CATARATAS DEL IGUAZU and the sunrise on the machu picchu.

Teach, Learn, Share

Marie: I'm pretty good at chinese arm-wrestle, I can teach you how to win a 6 years old child :)
we know some pretty good recipes and we can show you how to make a frog origami !
learn how to say "Cheers" in all languages. TCHIN TCHIN !

"Viajar nunca é uma questão de dinheiro, mas de coragem" - P.Coelho

“Live, travel, adventure, bless, and don't be sorry" - Jack Kerouac

What I Can Share with Hosts

We're currently doing a bible of all the places you should go to in Madrid (well mostly bars and restaurants). So whether you want to eat typical Spanish tapas or Mexican/Indian/Italian, we have the perfect place for you!

~~~~gay-friendly only~~~~

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Brazil, Canada, England, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Morocco, Peru, Poland, Spain, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, France, Germany, Spain

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Marie & Sophie’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups