Marie Oaks

Brecksville, Ohio, United States

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marie’s full profile. It’s free!


  • writer
  • B.A. in Physics, B.A. in Religion
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


live and write


I'm a pretty quiet person. I write a lot, love to hike and explore outside, love to read. I enjoy chatting with fun people.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have helped out host Couchsurfers at Bosque Village for the last four years.


I have hosted, but never been hosted (yet). It's been fun meeting people, especially the hosts that live here in Mexico.

I helped organize a CS event in 2008 for 50 couchsurfers. I also ran the kitchen for that event.


writing, reading, hiking, animals, good food and wine

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm actually not that into music and often people think that's odd. I just can't relate to them based on what bands they like.

Movies; I like really terrible romantic comedies. But I rarely watch movies. I have been enjoying shows like Community, Big Bang Theory, House, Dexter, Breaking Bad...

Books-- I read a lot and have a varied taste.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The animals in the Ngorongoro crater... and that whole area... was fantastic. I was actually in Tanzania for a class, and on the last weekend they took us there for a fun thing. Was incredible. Here's the google images for the crater:

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach some basic cooking skills. Especially for people interested in vegetarian food (I cook meat, too, but I'm a really good vegetarian cook).

This is a great concept. If you're in Mexico during Semana Santa, check out Cumbre Yah; a festival I help organize that operates with the same principle of learning/teaching:

Countries I’ve Visited

Norway, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Tanzania, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Mexico, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Marie’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups