Logo orange

Maria Columbus

Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, China

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 25 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 27 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese (Simplified), Dutch, French, Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Graduate saving pennies to travel wo...
  • University
  • From Cambridge
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

travel the world

ABOUT ME

I moved to HK January 2013 which has been an interesting expirence so far, theres still much more for me to discover and learn about which is fun...so I look forward to meeting you all soon! I lived in Geneva, Switzerland for a few months, beautiful place loads of fun adventures to be had. Previous to this I spent 9 months working in the Caribbean followed by 3 months travelling around Latin America. I love travelling, Music and Film Festivals, Wine, Rum, dancing, outdoor adventure, wildlife, and meeting new people...

I'm very friendly, adventurous when I can, and I like to laugh a lot. I love to travel as its in my blood but don't feel I do it enough. I also enjoy participating in international volunteering projects so my travel has a purpose. I like working in communities for cultural exchange and development opportunities. I enjoy working with children, and have spent some time teaching overseas. I'm from Cambridge UK and studied at the University of Birmingham UK.

PHILOSOPHY

Seize the day

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've been a couchsurfing member for just over a year...which has be very interesting... and I'm hoping to use the network more....

My first couchsurfing adventure was to little Cayman which involved relaxing/drinking/partying/boating and making camp fires on deserted islands...in the Luxurious Little Cayman Beach resort, whilst staying with the bar tender in his castle of an apartment (highest point on the island lol!)

I was fortunate to host some lovely people in Grand Cayman, 1st in my own apartment and then in a house I shared with fun house mates! I was then lucky to be hosted by some lovely people in the States... and I look forward to many more CS experiences!

My dream/goal is to travel the world... to learn and experience new things everyday! Next Year I'm heading to South America! :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I hosted a girl from Iceland (who was half Guyanese), we met and travelled a little in Miami... she introduced me to CS and stayed with me for 10days in the Caymans including a 4day mini CS adventure to the little Caymans... which was all great fun! I'm also excited about hosting several other people over the next few weeks... I can't wait to CS around the world and start living the dream! :D

Interests

I like exploring, outdoor adventure, meeting new people, music festivals, water sports (snorkling, different board sports, and white water rafting)... music, dance, visiting cultural events/monuments, jungle adventures, horse riding, and reading travel books :D My latest interests are sailing, and surviving on deserted islands with fellow travellers! >Also interested in off road motor sports and learning new sports and other activities.

Music, Movies & Books

Titanic, The Fall, Pirates of the Caribbean, Colombiana, Mr. & Mrs Smith, The Holiday, Slumdog millionaire, The City of God, Mama Mia, The Dear Hunter, The Beach, Seven Pounds, Turistas, Into the Wild, Man Woman Wild... and several more! Caribbean Reggae, Latin music and Hip Hop. Cayman Radio is what I tend to listen and sing along to the most since living on the island! :D Travel books (Rough Guide and Lonely Planet), history books...etc...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

White water rafting in Thailand... and surviving it.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you English and learn your language... whilst exchanging cultural/travel experiences. I can also give you a tour of where I live... I'm always on the move so you'll have to catch me quick! If I have free time I might travel further with you! :D

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cayman Islands, Cuba, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Italy, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lithuania, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Western Sahara

Countries I've Lived In

Cayman Islands, China, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile