Mariliis Jukk's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mariliis’s full profile.


  • 10 references 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Estonian, Finnish; learning Russian, Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Vagabund
  • University of Tartu, Medicine
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

The world is my oyster! I am a licensed doctor, a traveller, a teller of stories, an extreme sports lover. It takes courage to get out of your comfort zone and we (and I for that matter) open up to a completely different world while not stuck in a rut. Hop on a plane and whisk away!

Medicine is my second passion in addition to adventures. Having worked in the emergency department, the intensive care unit, COVID wards etc... If they say travelling is a lifestyle, then medicine is a loving, sometimes abusive relationship. I cherish it despite everything and because of everything.

You can truly give your time and effort to others while volunteering, makes a small change. Rio 2016 Olympics, several music festivals and youth organisations have paved my path this far.
As I have been part of the Estonian Medical Students' Association for almost 5 years and been a part of the team of official as a National Officer of Medical Education, the organisational structure and hard work are no strangers to me.

Our youtube channel -

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing gives a unique vibe and memories of a place that so far nothing else has been able to replicate. Locals have the most interesting stories of their country or crazy stories of times they were living elsewhere or just very deep wisdom about a certain aspect of life.
There are many ways to travel but by far this has proven to be one of the most memorable experiences.
When there is a story, there is an eager ear to listen.
Hope to one day be able to afford a (proper) place to also host people in my hometown!


Food, extreme sports and hiking are my biggest favourites.

  • singing
  • running
  • crafts
  • music
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • mountaineering
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • extreme sports
  • medicine
  • study
  • volunteering
  • travelling
  • playing guitar
  • cuisine
  • humanitarian aid

Music, Movies, and Books

Music, movies and books are all subject to relativity - enjoying different genres depending on the circumstances, environment and people I am with.
If a movie or a book did not make you think at least for a while after watching/reading it - probably not a masterpiece. Self-development never ends - be So Good They Can't Ignore you ;).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Spending 14 days in the Kazahstani mountains to challenge myself and defy dangers in a closed mountaineering camp. The peacefulness of a summit is a goal you want to achieve but the hard journey is the one that makes all the difference.

Sailing a tall ship STS Fryderyk Chopin on the Baltic Sea for sustainable development and experiencing sunshine and calm sea on top of the 38m mast and some story weathers with the boat tilted to 40 degrees at the helm.

Climbing to the top of Pao de Azucar in Rio de Janeiro with a complete stranger.

Teach, Learn, Share

As English is (almost) like a native language for me I am ready to practice it at all times.
First aid and all sorts of general practitioner medical knowledge, also critical care and emergency medicine.
From a more academic side: rationality techniques originating from the States (CFAR) - Setting goals, choosing between them, improving your life by design, how to find a common argument in a disagreement and many more.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I make excellent pancakes!
Cooking would be a nice way to show the host our gratitude.
(And I know how to clean...)
But I can also share the daredevil spirit!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Denmark, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Estonia, Finland

Join Couchsurfing to see Mariliis’s full profile.