Logo orange

Mari Van Loon

Bern, Canton of Bern, Switzerland

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mari's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 65 Positive References
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning Norwegian, Spanish, Swiss German
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Researcher, University
  • No education listed
  • From 's-Hertogenbosch, Brabant, the Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

flying with focus

ABOUT ME

The day starts with a coffee, and usually ends with a glass of red wine. In my dreams I sleep on the beach, wake up with the rising sun and a bath in the sea, and then continue the road with a coffee and a new song. In real life I'm researching metacognition and self-regulation (this sounds like gibberish, I'll tell you more later - if you're interested). I really like this as well, so it's all good for now. Like to host & surf, to join meetings, and to do things like making a cycling trip, cooking together, jamming, etc. Usually I'm working quite a bit. Anyways, I like to spend time with you. If you like to meet or surf, please send me a personalized request. Use the keyword MAZZEL, so that I can see that you did read some information about me. ;)

PHILOSOPHY

Life is happening now, so do it!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

By hosting, surfing, and by bubbling around.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

GOOD experiences, hosted here in Maastricht and have been hosted in The States, Austria, Italy, Germany, Ireland, Morocco, France, Argentina and Spain! It's amazing that this is based on trust and that it can be possible!

Interests

Music, water, the brain, books, people, wind, sun, trees, paintings, fields, cooking, psychology, movies, swimming, cycling, fashion, science, yoga, beer & wine, skiing, horseback riding, sleeping.

Music, Movies & Books

Books: Catcher in the Rye, Grapes of Wrath, The Omnivore's Dilemma, Zorba the Greek, The Magic Mountain, etc. Music: I love creativity in music. And a lot of instrumental stuff. Give me blues, classical music, jazz, (classic) rock, punk, latin, you name it, I'll like it. I play some flute and a bit of guitar. To all the people who play music: Let's jam! Movies: Fellini, Lars von Trier, Jim Jarmusch, Tarantino, Stanley Kubrick, etc. And am fond of old stuff without too many special effects.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Watching fire. Repairing my bicycle (again). Going to the sea.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you to play some flute. Or how to pronounce ei and ui. And how to cook a Dutch stamppot dish. Maybe you can teach me some special cooking? Windsurfing? Music? Yoga? Spanish? Would be nice share music with you. And good times in nature. And I like to do some running (or better call it jogging), so if you have legs and running shoes, let's go!

What I Can Share With Hosts

I'll be happy to cook for you, and/or to do your dishes.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Namibia, Portugal, South Africa, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States, Zambia

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Netherlands, Norway, Switzerland

Join Couchsurfing to see Mari's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile