Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see MarinaCouchlady’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Arts Management
  • Formal and life
  • From Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


Finding out new places on the Gold Coast, I haven't lived here for a number of years.


It's rather apt that my surname is Couchman ... I enjoy sitting on couches, listening, sharing thoughts and laughing. A few beverages of choice and delicious food to compliment can be rather nice too.

I grew up on the Gold Coast - Australia, and have lived all over Oz in different environments such as the rainforest, cities, deserts and gorgeous small beach side communities.

I've worked in arts management / events in the past, and while I took a break doing this in Canada to check out the amazing arts scene there. Events and connecting with community is something I revel in.


It's waiting.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Making connections.


I've spent a bit of time with the Brisbane and Perth CS community - and really enjoying hanging out with everyone that I've met along the way. I was able to host in Karratha, Western Australia, and though I couldn't travel at the time, having the world come to me was the best.


Going to all kinds of events, seeing live music/comedy/movies, natural therapies, tai chi/yoga, running and riding my bike, road trips, spending time in nature and in/around water, coffee, exploring new places/ideas, breakfast, noticeboards, making things happen.

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Dan Sultan, My Brightest Diamond, The Zombies, Abbe May, Nick Cave, Sharon Jones, Arcade Fire, Strand of Oaks, Bob Brozman, and anything generally in the genre of Americana, Folk, Rock, Arcadian and from New Zealand.

Movies: most recently Birdman - which I thought was smashing - and anything arthouse or an independent release is a-ok with me.

Books: Biographies, tales of traveling adventures, philosophy / spirituality.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Why only one?! Highlights include:
Swimming in phosphorescence in Jamaica
Driving 6,000km half way around Australia
Swimming with turtles on the Great Barrier Reef
Reaching the very top of New Zealand where the spirits meet the sea

Teach, Learn, Share

A variety of natural therapies items: making body care products as I used to be a remedial massage therapist.

Spots to travel to and what to see in Australia - I've lived in and travelled much of the country, and so enjoyed my my 6,000km road trip across country in 2012.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Costa Rica, Guatemala, India, Indonesia, Jamaica, Mexico, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see MarinaCouchlady’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups