Mario Kapas's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mario’s full profile.

Overview

  • 189 references 115 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Dutch, Indonesian, Malay, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Traveler and random jobs
  • Life, schools, family, people, animals, books and you
  • From Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION:
Exploring South America overland. I start in Argentina and head northwards to Colombia 🌎

Hey, I'm Mario, a 29-year-old traveler from Germany.
I'm currently on a trip around the world which started at the beginning of 2019. In total, I traveled continuously for around 5 years now.

My blog:

https://1000daysoftraveling.blogspot.com

*2019: Singapore, Vietnam, Myanmar, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Malaysia, Brunei, Indonesia

*2020: Indonesia, Philippines, Malaysia, Austria, Netherlands, Slovakia, Poland, Denmark, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine, Poland

*2021: Poland, Albania, North Macedonia, Romania, Bulgaria, Georgia, Armenia, Egypt, Sri Lanka

*2022: Sri Lanka, Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, India, Bangladesh, Nepal

*2023: India, Oman, UAE, Jordan, Palestine, Israel, Cyprus, Poland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Slovenia, Austria, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Finland, USA, Argentina, Uruguay, Chile, Paraguay, Bolivia

*2024: Peru, Ecuador, Colombia, Curaçao

Upcoming travel plans for 2024:
Colombia 🇨🇴

🖥️ Working online for around 3 hours every day

About my location: Since 2019 I do not have anything like a home base and that's why I will be changing my location in order to host people to give back to the Couchsurfing community in my own way. I would like to host some travelers whenever I have a free bed in booked accommodation or share camp spots. I may not be able to provide local knowledge and recommendations about the city, but we can explore it together.

Oh, and people ask me about Social Media: Couchsurfing is the only social media I use. That, you can be sure of: It is the only social one and no waste of time! :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To travel the world, enjoy the feeling of freedom, improve language skills, make deep connections and lasting relationships and to experience the local culture outside of hostels and tourist places. To connect with people who really live in that place instead of hanging around only with other tourists or locals who work in the tourist industry. To make my own and other people's everyday life more interesting. And I cant wait to be a CS host in my future home as well (where- and whenever that will be).

Interests

Interested in:
🔹Hiking and cycling
🔹Nature and animals
🔹Cultural exchange
🔹Deeper understanding of local life
🔹Local cuisine
🔹History, Geography and Society
🔹Learning to cook new dishes
🔹New languages
🔹Watching sports events
🔹Minimalism and different lifestyles

Not interested in:
🔺Drugs
🔺Commercial hosts and buying tours
🔺Narrow-minded people
🔺Religious conversion
🔺Nudism (recently I got a couple of invitations - not interested!)

  • animals
  • culture
  • coffee
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • geography
  • history
  • languages
  • beaches
  • travel
  • nature
  • football
  • cuisines

Music, Movies, and Books

Music 🎵 - I like a wide range of music, but mostly stick with French and German Hip Hop/Rap.

Movies 🎥 - Since I started traveling I stopped watching stuff. The Godfather and Breaking Bad are still my favorites.

Books 📚 - I love to read mostly non-fictional books about travels, other countries and mindset.
Fictional Books I loved were Khaled Hosseini (a Thousand Splendid Suns) , Mario Puzo (the Godfather) or Hermann Hesse (Der Steppenwolf).
I try to read a book from every country I travel to. So please recommend your favorite book from your country to me!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Quit my job, sold all my stuff, leave my apartment in Germany and started to travel the world in 2019. That just changed my entire life.

Teach, Learn, Share

I was born and raised in Germany. I can share stories of life growing up and working there.

Also we can talk about my travels around the world, especially in most parts of Europe and many countries of Asia. I can provide you with tons of hacks, experiences and tips about traveling.

If you want I can teach you the German language or we can improve our English.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Happiness, friendliness, curiosity, positivity and friendship. I can also help with cleaning, cooking, taking care of kids or whatever you are up to 😊
After many years on the road I have plenty of travel and budget tips that you could benefit from as well.
I'm easy to get along with all kind of characters, cultures, religions and lifestyles. I'm open minded, easy going and respectful.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, Curaçao, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kosovo, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Monaco, Montenegro, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, Oman, Palestine, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uruguay, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Germany, Malaysia

Join Couchsurfing to see Mario’s full profile.