Mario Oliveros's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 82% response rate
  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mario’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 46 References 41 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French, Portuguese, Russian
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Full time traveller
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello fellow travellers!

--Currently on a long-term trip so will be unable to host for a while--

Thanks for taking the time to read my profile. My name is Mario (no I'm not an Italian plumber who works for Nintendo!)

I was born in Madrid and lived there for the 18 first years of my life. At the age of 18 I decided to move to England which was a fantastic experience, England being a really multicultural country gave me the chance to meet people from all over the world and learn from many different cultures.

About me, I consider myself to be an active person always willing to try new things and meet new people. I believe that everyone in the world has something to teach; for this reason I think meeting new people gives you the chance to learn and to grow as a person.

I am very passionate about nature, the environment and animal welfare. I am VEGAN which I am aware is something not everyone would agree with. If you stay with us please be respectful and in exchange I will try to show you how tasty food can be without animal products :)


Enjoy yourself, enjoy your life.

Use and reuse, share and don't buy anything unless you really need it.

When I die, I would like to die doing what I love.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It all started a few years ago with a friend telling me about the site. I simply couldn't believe it, I couldn't think something so amazing could exist. He then suggested going on a road trip around UK staying with different couchsurfers. The trip was such a great experience that I can proudlay say it changed my life.

Since that first experience I've hosted and been hosted more than 20 times and every single experience has been amazing!


I love trying new things!

At the moment I really enjoy cooking VEGAN healthy dishes, cycling and most outdoor activities, environmentally related activities, reading and obviously as most people on this site TRAVELLING!

  • animals
  • animal welfare
  • environment
  • dining
  • cooking
  • vegan
  • walking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • cycling
  • canoeing
  • study abroad
  • hitchhiking
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Books, I like pretty much anything written by Orwell, 1984, Homage to Catalonia, Animal Farm.. Huxley's Brave New World is also among my favourite books.
In terms of music I'm quite open, I'm not very good at remembering artists' names but I can enjoy pretty much any style!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Back in 2012 during the summer holidays while I was at Uni, I decided to do the "Camino de Santiago" a pilgrimage through France and the North of Spain.
The plan was to walk down from Bayonne (France) to Santiago de Compostela (Spain), approximately 900km.

I started the adventure here in Portsmouth (UK); where I took a ferry down to St. Malo (France) and then thee idea was to hitchhike down to Bayonne to start the walk.
When I arrived to France the weather was terrible and I didn't even have a place to stay for the night. I decided then to hitchhike down to Rennes in hope for better luck . I did found that luck, it was sunny down the and it happened to be the "Fete de la Musique" a day of celebrations and music around the city. I was still aware that I had no place to crash but at least it was sunny and the was music. At the distance I spotted a group of fellow Spaniards so I approach them in hope of advice. Luckily enough, they were a group of really cool Erasmus students and they quickly made me feel part of the group and invited me to stay their place for the night.
The following day I carried on with the trip and hitchhiked down to Nantes where I was lucky to have a brilliant couple of CSers hosting me!
After that I carried on hitchhiking down South towards my starting point for the pilgrimage with a few adventures in the way and sleeping in some random places and getting lifts from random people including the canoeing Spanish team who was driving back from a competition in Sweden.
Finally I managed to get to the starting point where I had to sleep in a park but being nice and warm it wasn't much of an issue. I then started walking and I carried on walking, and walking and walking for 34 days. During that time I went through loads of different adventures, met hundreds of people, learn about different cultures, saw some amazing places and definitely grew as person. During that journey the craziest place I probably slept was around Cantabria (Spain) in a graveyard or an abandoned van from Poland in a petrol station.
I did not do the pilgrimage for any religious reasons, I just wanted some time with myself to be able to think more clearly and find out better who I was. It changed me as a person in many aspects; a month after I even stopped eating animals and since then I have now gone fully vegan.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like to learn from everyone, I believe everyone has something to teach!

I can show you how to prepare different vegan dishes in particular my well known 'Sweet Potato and Chickpea Curry'!

What I Can Share with Hosts

A couch, probably lend you a bike and if I have time take you around some beautiful places.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Morocco, Netherlands, Paraguay, Portugal

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Mario’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups