Logo orange

Marissa Hockenberry

Bellefonte, PA, United States

Wants to Meet Up

100% response rate · Last login 8 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marissa's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 34 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • working, traveling, eating...
  • BS in BA w/ Conc. in Hospitality & T...
  • From Dillsburg, PA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Currently: learn life thru traveling

ABOUT ME

I'm back on the East Coast, living closer to family. Recently, I took a 51 day road trip across the States. Quite a few states I crossed off my list & many amazing people I met along the way!

My next planned international trip is to South Africa, hopefully for at least 3 months. I like to bake, go to farmers markets, try new foods, & go hiking/backpacking. I work out & read. I enjoy exploring new areas and meeting people.

PHILOSOPHY

Worry, but be happy. Life can only offer what you put into it, so give it all you can. Otherwise, sit on the couch & stop complaining!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I join various CS groups & attend events. Staying with other CS-ers during my travels and letting others stay with me....it's so much better to see life thru the eyes of a local than staying in hostels/hotels all the time.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've been hosted quite a bit while traveling in Italy and through the US. I'm now able to "give back" & extend the same courtesies. This is a good org to meet new, like-minded people and stay in a place and get to know it for what it is while learning about others lives and habits.

Interests

The outdoors, wine, hiking, traveling, reading, volunteering, staying healthy, sharing meals with friends, learning Italian!

Music, Movies & Books

Michael Pollan & Anthony Bourdain as authors. Cookbooks (pretty much all of them but especially the ones with pictures so I know if my dishes turned out right!)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I'm PADI Open Water dive certified & I love skydiving. The thrills of both are so exciting & connect you with a part of Earth that's not experienced, nor appreciated, every day.

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to learn Italian, the language & the life. I can share what I've learned....it's all different.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Bahamas, Canada, Croatia, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Papua New Guinea, Slovenia, United Kingdom, United States, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Italy, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Marissa's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile