Logo orange

Marissa Ramos

Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires City, Argentina

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marissa's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 4 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Business Development Associate
  • B.S. from the University of Texas at...
  • From San Antonio, TX
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to become fluent in Spanish and learn about a new culture

ABOUT ME

I'm 25 years old and from the US. I'm currently living and working in Buenos Aires, Argentina. I studied abroad in Barcelona, Spain when I was in university, and of course after living in a new country for a few months when I was 21 I knew I had to do it again and soon. I graduated from The University of Texas at Austin the next year and continued a career in retail that began when I was 19, but 6 months later I decided that I was going to move to Argentina with one of my best friends. One year later in December of 2012 we actually did it, and traveled for 4 months in Central and South America before arriving here to Buenos Aires. I love this city so far and am looking forward to being here for much longer, perfectig my spanish, and getting to know many interesting places and people.

PHILOSOPHY

Everything happens for a reason.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm on couchsurfing to meet new people and practice my spanish with locals.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've couchsurfed once before when I first arrived to Buenos Aires and it was a great introduction to this city. We explored the city on motorcycles and met a few friends that we still keep in contact with.

I also couchsurfed in Rio during the World Cup which was a wonderful experience, our host took us to bars around the city and tried to take us to sites (we were a bit too hungover each day to do too much sight-seeing), and introduced us to all his friends who were all incredible.

Interests

I absolutely love to travel and see new places. I just finished backpacking through central and south america and had the experience of a lifetime. I am truly passionate about traveling and exploring the world, learning about new cultures, and meeting new and interesting people. I love going out with my friends and having a good time. I also love doing outdoor activities, from kayaking to rafting to hiking mountains. I absolutely love food as well, I think one of the best parts of traveling is learning about and eating the typical food of each place, because every country is so different. I'm also very interested in the spanish language. I learned it as a baby because my parents are from Mexico, but I quickly forgot it once I started going to school in only English. I started relearning it at age 12, and can speak it pretty well, but still have a long way to go.

Music, Movies & Books

All types of music except country. Well, a few country songs I like. So I guess all types of music! I especially loovveee music festivals, in Austin they are the best. I love listening to live music, from jazz to indie. I love to sing as well. I enjoy all kinds of movies, my favorites are by far musicals, such as Moulin Rouge and Chicago. I also love anything by Quentin Tarantino and Wes Anderson.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I can't pick just one, I've seen and done incredible things in each and every country I've been to. One memory that sticks out is bungee jumping for my first time over a huge river in Ecuador. That was terrifying, but immediately afterwards I wanted to do it again from a much higher height. I've also hiked to the top of Macchu Picchu which was breathtaking.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, France, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Spain, United Kingdom, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Marissa's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile