Marius_af's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marius_af’s full profile.


  • 74 references 35 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish; learning Portuguese
  • 40, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • freelancer
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

**** Brasil 2021- 22***
Estou ansioso para fazer encontros legais com vocês para trocar ideias, conhecimentos, fazer música.
Gosto de percussão (toco pandeiro, começando cavaquinho, curto o forró), atividades na natureza, trilhas, viagens de bicicleta, cozinhar e comer bem, melhorar meu brasileirês, aprender sobre agrofloresta.
Estou na Bahia e arredores durante os meses de outubro+novembro, e depois planejo viajar para o centro e depois o estado de São Paulo


Hi, I am Marius, a mix of different interests, influences and skills. A little bit of this a little bit of that trying hard to not fit into a specific scheme, even if I do .

I need to be in nature from time to time, as well as in cities, walking around. Being curious about people, stories and objects, situations and mostly I want to know how something works or how some has been made, why it's done and how something happened.
My friends say that I ask many question like a child does.
I kind of love to show people how to do stuff I know ;)
I like using my hands, especially for gardening, building mechanic things and metal structures, plaiyng instruments.

I eat everything from ants to zucchini and I prefer local and fresh ingredients.

At home I am working as a photo journalist and engineer at the same time

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I reactivated my couchsurfing profile for a longer stay in Brasil starting from october 2021 until after carnaval 2022 (hopefully it will happen in some way!)
My bucked list:
- be receptive and take time for good encounters
- improve brazilian portuguese
- make music with people, learn melodies, lyrics and rythms of brazilian music
- do some meditation / posture work (I always ignored that need in my life, may it happen know :) :)
- make i little bicycle travel along the coast somewhere between Bahia and Ceará

I used to organize regular hikes and meetings trough Couchsurfing
my first Couchsurfing-like experience was a 1 month stay in Santiago de Cuba at Kjell's place with in Winter 2005/2006 (when it got it's 100,000 member). For the party we pressed 20 kilos of oranges and then somebody spilled all the juice on the floor. When it got dark we found out that there was actually no electricity in that house, no light , no music, no problem! funny and great memories. I started to use Couchsurfing in December 2008 during my first China travel with former roomate Liang.


nature, cities, food markets, cooking and eating, photography, music, journalism, film, languages, media, etymology, adventures, hiking, cycling, make a fire, inline skating, bathing, contradictions, exceptions, politics, volcanoes

  • photography
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • engineering
  • etymology
  • journalism
  • languages
  • plants
  • metal
  • percussion
  • trees
  • forró
  • wood
  • bicycles
  • mechanics
  • pandeiro
  • vulcanos
  • cavaquinho
  • sintropic farming

Music, Movies, and Books

everthing that's groove and rythm, interesting melodies and harmonies (for exemple brazilian music). Preferably life music made with acoustic instruments
i discovered forró dancing here in my hometown some years ago and I am eager to get closer to the origin of north-eastern culture

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One night on Stromboli volcano island
Bicycle travels and wild camping in beautiful places

Teach, Learn, Share

My new decade's objective is to make music with other people. I am getting practice with percussion instruments like the pandeiro (brazilian frame drum), djembe/dundun, cavaquinho and voice.
I could show you how to repair a bicycle or anything else, take care of a garden, i can fix your electronic stuff. with some friends I created an association that builds bicycle frames for fun.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook some Röschti or improvise with anything we got.

Countries I’ve Visited

Brazil, Bulgaria, China, Colombia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, Mexico, Switzerland

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    11 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Marius_af’s full profile.

My Groups