Markus Schmidt's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 81% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Markus’s full profile.

Overview

  • 16 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • side jobs: reporter for a local radio station, extra in a...
  • Student
  • From Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a 27 year old student of social sciences. I used to life in a flat share with 3 friends in Karlsruhe downtown, but since I earn some money I took the chance to life on my own.
Unfortunately my English is not perfect but since I spent a semester abroad in Memphis, TN it became pretty okay. I'd describe myself as multi-interested, I am able to recite Dürenmatt (my favorite writer) but also sometimes break into an outdoor pool at night. I love looking for the little adventures in every day life.
Some years ago, I started being involved in local politics, which leads to me being super busy sometimes. But of corse ill be happy to have you here and I can try to take some time off.

Like for most of Couchsurfers, traveling is my passion, I can never get enough it. I love doing conversations and I appreciate the cultural exchange. When I am not traveling, I try to host people at my place, that the world comes to me. But seriously: who wants to come to Karlsruhe?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To be perfectly honest the financial aspect plays a role of course. I prefer traveling more often for cheap then less for expensive. Why pay an expensive hotel room when you can sleep somewhere else for free and nice hostpeople are even included ? I think to see the landscape is only 50% of a country; the other 50% are the people living there - and I am curious to meet of you. I like 100%. I think that only locals know the really cool places to be. I love people and I want to show you the beautiful corners of Karlsruhe, an underestimated piece of Germany.

Interests

I love beeing outside, doing sports and meeting friends. I like to meet new people - travelling is one of my biggest interests, of course. There are so many places in the world I haven't seen yet but I want to.
I am used to play football (soccer!) and I play in the theatre. Besides, I go to gym. I love good (german) beer and wine (especially red wine, but white is also ok)

  • culture
  • writing
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • billiards
  • juggling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • skydiving
  • sports
  • boxing
  • social science

Music, Movies, and Books

I love Harry Potter - books and films. My favorite author is Friedrich Dürrenmatt.
"The Shawshank Redemption" is one of the best films that I have ever seen - the first 3 times I saw it made me cry.
I like Leonardo di Caprio and Christopher Walz, in my opinion two of the best actors in the world.
Charly Chapplin is great.
Of the more recent films I want to recommend " Victoria", a german/english spoken movie that was shot without a single cut. I love this movie, it is so great!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I think my divers-license was great. Next, I'd really want to do skydive at least once in my life.

Teach, Learn, Share

Juggling (easy), German (hard).

What I Can Share with Hosts

My humor and if necessary even my toothbrush.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Botswana, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Egypt, England, France, Greece, Hungary, Iran, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Morocco, Myanmar, Namibia, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United States, Vatican City State, Wales, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Markus’s full profile.