Logo orange

Mark Russell

London, London, England

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mark's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 66 Positive References
  • Ambassador
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Brewery Owner
  • School, College, Uni... But mainly a...
  • From Croydon
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Continuing to be 'Deceptively tall'...

ABOUT ME

I'm Mark, from the most populated borough in London, Croydon.

I am friendly and polite, love meeting new people and trying new things in new places, although I can be lazy when I really want to be, just as happy to have a quiet night in with a movie!

I set up my own business in July 2012, when I opened the first brewery in the borough for 58 years. Obviously, if you have ever fancied a day helping out in a brewery you would be more than welcome to join us!

This also means that going out and trying some beers is classed as 'market research'!

PHILOSOPHY

I am very laid back, like to accommodate and get on with everyone I meet, and truly believe that being honest is the best policy!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have been hosting since buying my flat in November 2009, met a lot of great people and want to keep meeting and learning!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I was not a member of CS (Indeed, not even aware of CS) until I travelled to Oslo on my own in June 2009. A guy staying in my hostel room told me about couch surfing and proceded to introduce me to loads of people he had met through CS.

Since then, I have hosted many people, met up with others while away, and even organised a couple of local CS meets. I have enjoyed the whole experiance immensely!

Interests

My major big interest is my football (soccer) team Crystal Palace, who I go to see play regularly. I have taken CSers I have hosted to games before if I have a spare ticket, and they have all enjoyed it (I hope!)

I am also a big New York Jets fan, and have been over to see a game each of the past 4 years.

I am really into my music, for years before I started Uni I was a DJ in big clubs around the country, and had some really good times. I kinda miss doing it, but in my spare time nowadays I turn my hand to making music for a bit of fun in my home studio.

I love travelling, although my job means I don't get to do it as often as I would like. I also love playing sports, mainly Squash, Tennis, going to the gym and Swimming.

Music, Movies & Books

I own a lot of movies, so if you want a chilled out night to relax from the stresses of travel you can :)

Monty Python, A Beautiful Mind, Alive, Kingdom of Heaven, American History X, Anchorman, Austin Powers, Back to the Future, Bad Boys, Baseketball, Behind Enemy Lines, Beverley Hills Cop, Any Bruce Lee, City of God, Con Air, Die Hard, Dogma, Dont be a menace to South Central while drinking your juice in the hood, Dumb and Dumber, Face off, Family Guy, Finding Nemo, Freddy got Fingured, Gangster no.1, Hot Shots, Private Parts, Indiana Jones, James Bond films, Kill Bill, Kingpin, Lethel Weapon, Lock Stock, Midnight Express, Independance Day, Men in Black, Napoleon Dynamite, Predator, Rush Hour, Saving Private Ryan, Shrek, Snatch, South Park, Spy Hard, Team America, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Terminator, Birdcage, Green Mile, Shawshank Redemption, Naked Gun, Total Recall

Into a lot of various genres, mainly dance orientated - Electro, trance, hard house, funky house etc... I like to listen to loads of other types of music though, from 70's right through to today. I also produce my own dance music, as well as hip-hop - So if you want to hear any just let me know!

Like Scandinavian Crime Fiction, Stieg Larsson, Arnaldur Indriðason, Jo Nesbø etc... Also like reading autobiography's, generally these are sport related.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Diving in the Red Sea, the SS Thistlegorm and spotting a Tiger shark!
Great Barrier Reef
Waterfalls & Mojitos in Cuba
-30c Temps, Saunas & CSing in Finland
DJ'ed in front of 2,500+ people

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: can give you lessons in DJing and making electronic music, as well as offering my valuable knowledge on alcohol :) Especially the virtues of the good olde English pint of bitter. I am also very good with computers so if there is something you want me to show you, just ask!

Learn: I love to cook so would love to learn recipes from around the world. Also any musical knowledge you could pass on would be great! Mainly though, I like to learn about people's cultures and customs.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Belgium, Canada, Cuba, Cyprus, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Mark's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile