Maros Lauer's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 9 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maros’s full profile.

Overview

  • 174 references 135 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Czech, English, German, Russian, Slovak; learning Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • (Ex)Management Consultant
  • Master Degree
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

In the end it is not the years in your life that count but the life in your years.

Currently traveling around without much of plan and enjoying freedom in life :)

I consider myself to be an outgoing person who love to meet new inspiring people, to explore new places and who always like to try new things (and get into troubles afterwards...)! Always up for pushing boundaries and staying out of comfort zone.
Despite my great passion for adventure, sport and parties, I love to chill out reading a good book or have deep talks over coffee or some other drinks :)

I try to live minimalist lifestyle - I just keep trying to make room for life’s important things—which actually aren’t things at all :)
If you have a second, read a bit more about it here: http://www.theminimalists.com/

Last but not least, I hate constrains in our lives - I always try to be free, do what I feel is right to do and enjoy every moment. Sometimes that means I change my plans quite often and last minute, I don’t like sticking to some plans and always rather go with the flow. Makes life way more interesting;)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Once I tried couchsurfing, I couldn´t stop anymore! The best and the only way to travel for me.

Interests

My greatest passion are extreme sports in the mountains such as ice climbing, rock climbing, freeskiing and alpinism. I love adventure and adrenaline in any form, whether when hitchhiking around some dodgy countries or hanging several hundred meters above ground on frozen waterfall.
I also love alternative parties, raves and festivals, mainly psytrance and techno.
I love books and studying as well -I studied several programmes (finance, history, political science and international relations) at various universities.
I'm also into arts, I always buy more books than I can carry during my trips and always look for some cool galeries around ;)

  • arts
  • books
  • festivals
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • running
  • raves
  • technology
  • minimalism
  • mountaineering
  • sports
  • extreme sports
  • business
  • history
  • languages
  • philosophy
  • psychology
  • sociology
  • hitchhiking
  • nature
  • adventure
  • techno
  • climbing
  • calisthenics
  • psytrance
  • trance

Music, Movies, and Books

Books - I read a lot, if you are into books I'm pretty sure we find a lot to talk about :)
Music - big fan of psytrance, techno but also fine with indie, rock or jazz . Not into hip-hop, pop, metal and R&B, sorry guys :)
Movies - depends. documentaries, dramas, comedies, alternative cinema, road movies ... not so much into series (take too much time :D)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I drove a train....... run 55 km through the mountains in 8 hours .... hitchiked from my home city through half europe and back .... read 200 books in a year ... and most amazing stories are supposed to be told in person over some nice drink :) (and believe, there are some!)

Teach, Learn, Share

I don’t live in my home country for over a dacade . if you are looking for some traditional experiences, for a person who could show you national culture, habits etc., I'm not the right guy ;) On the other side I'm a real cosmopolitan who love learning languages, exploring new cultures and meeting new people all the time.

What I Can Share with Hosts

What can I offer? Something from my homeland culture and habits, some experiences and insight from countries I lived in or traveled to. I'm always very open to share my ideas about the world, life, traveling and so on. When I´m hosting, I can also show you what is life in my city about.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Benin, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Côte d'Ivoire, Denmark, Egypt, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Guinea-Bissau, Hungary, Iceland, India, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Maldives, Malta, Mauritania, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Nigeria, Northern Ireland, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Vatican City State, Yemen

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Germany, Slovakia, Switzerland

Join Couchsurfing to see Maros’s full profile.

My Groups