Logo orange

Marteinn's Groups

Marteinn Briem

Reykjavik, Greater Reykjavik, Iceland

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marteinn's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 35 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Icelandic; learning Chinese, Danish, German, Spanish
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • CEO at Citywalk Reykjavík, Soccer co...
  • Got BA in general history and chines...
  • From Reykjavík, Iceland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Prepare for my next big journey!

ABOUT ME

I'm born 1989, on 10th of july. Currently I'm living with my parents and my brother, two years younger than me. I'm relaxed, like to joke around and do stupid things. I want to have something to do because if I am bored I might fall asleep haha. I try to check CS every now and then, but don't count on instant replies from me. I'm really into sports, especially soccer. I play every week and I'm a academy coach aswell.

PHILOSOPHY

I try to be polite and open to others as much as possible . I suppose thats a philosophy

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I started using CS in the fall of 2011 when I was travelling in South-East Asia and stayed with a few couchsurfers that I met through CS. I've never hosted before. I'm still living with my parents so for now I can't. I'm glad to show tourists around my city, I know quite alot about the history of Reykjavik and Iceland. I can also show you the night life and give you other recommendations on how to spend your time in Iceland.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Great. CS has turned out great for me. The hosts are usually very welcoming and are ready to spend time with you more than you expect. I've met a lot of Couchsurfers on the road and contacted some others prior to my arrival. Then I've also recieved quite a few in Iceland but only for a walk in the city or a nightout.

Interests

Sports ( especially soccer and handball) I love travelling and experiencing different world cultures, I listen to music all the time, either on my ipod or on my computer. I love board and card games and all sorts of competition. Im quite sore loser but i try not to show it to strangers :). Reading about old history but otherwise I dont read much except the newspapers. When I'm travelling I read a lot more, books telling real life stories, often sad ones but very informing.

Music, Movies & Books

Gladiator is my favourite movie. i've watched it too many times, it just gets me going if I have a soccer game later in the day or the day after.
My music style is R&B based, I also like dance-techno-clubbing music. I am very well updated on whats new on youtube ;) You can expect me to have the latest party music on my ipod!
I recently discovered books. While travelling alone i used to spend time on buses reading. During my travels i read a lot, mostly true stories, shocking ones. For example, Escape from Camp 14, A long way gone, memoirs of a Boy Soldier, I am Malala. While at home I'm reading less and mostly school or history related.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I've been in the cockpit of an airplane as it arrived in London Heathrow. Legoland was pretty awesome when I was 10 haha. I also saw some crazy stuff when I was travelling in Thailand, better not mention it here. Macchu Picchu and Chichen Itza I guess, since they are among the 7 modern wonders of the world. I've survived a survival jungle trek in the Amazon. Hiked a mountain og 6088m and last but not least participated in the completely unknown festival of Takanakuy in the Peruvian Andes.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you soccer. I can also teach card-games but you still wont be able to beat me. I could also teach you Icelandic but you might not want that.

I want to learn about the customs and culture of your country. I want to know the city I stay in and I really want to see historical places.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, France, Germany, Italy, Laos, Mexico, Monaco, Norway, Paraguay, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

China, Iceland, Peru, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Marteinn's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile