Martin Spendlhofer's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 99% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Martin’s full profile.

Overview

  • 430 references 348 Confirmed & Positive
  • Ambassador
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Japanese, Russian
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • teacher, paramedic, part-time traveller
  • Teacher's college
  • From Vienna, Vienna, Austria
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

> I am double vaccinated and am getting my third shot mid-November.
> For potential guests: since I am a teacher and have responsibility for over 100 kids I will ask you if you are vaccinated / tested
> My apartment is about 30 min. away from the city center by train

CURRENT MISSION

🌎 Collect countries like Pokémon

ABOUT ME

🥑 I have an inexplicable addiction to avocados
🥗I am a flexitarian - meaning I only eat meat when I travel
🎼 I love music and listen to it all the time
🌍 I have a serious case of #wanderlust and #fernweh (opposite of homesickness, distancesickness)
🛏 I do couchsurfing as a way of treatment, it's like travelling without having to go anywhere
🍻🤭 I usually don’t drink alcohol

PHILOSOPHY

Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

For me, the main idea of couchsurfing is hospitality. This is the reason why sometimes I might have more than 2 guests at my small apartment.
My first couchsurfing experience was awesome. I got breakfast every morning and this is a tradition I brought with me. In rare cases, I don’t have the time (or energy :-) in the morning though unfortunately.
I believe in “sharing is caring” and trust as the main currency of couchsurfing.
I like showing my guests around, cooking with them and having interesting conversations.
I collect countries like Pokemon so I also like visiting surfers that I’ve hosted in their home countries.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Was and remains awesome! I've met so many cool people, seen so many magnificent sights, had so many delicious foods and learned to many awesome things just because of couchsurfing. It definitely made me the man I am today, wanting to explore the world and connect with people from different cultures, religions, countries and traditions.

Interests

My main interests in life are traveling, exploring the world and meeting many people and listening to their stories. I've learned that couchsurfing is the best way to achieve this. Even though my passion in life is and remains teaching, one of my imaginary exit plans is to travel the world and then open up a restaurant with all the great food that I've tasted and also sharing all the stories behind the food. So cooking is also something that I do with great enthusiasm. I like hanging out with friends, going to the movies, to street festivals and to game nights.

  • culture
  • budget travel
  • i love travelling
  • paramedic
  • experience the real country

Music, Movies, and Books

I basically like all kinds of music, but especially acapella and orchestral rock music. My favourite band at the moment is fläaschtbänkler from Switzerland. Check it out!
I like reading the Lord of the Rings, A prayer for Owen Meany and books from Michael Ende. Unfortunately I do not have a lot of time to read.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

🌅 Sunrise on Mt. Fuji
🕌 Trip to Egypt, walking like an Egyptian
🗿Road-tripping on Easter Island
🧙‍♂Had dinner in the Great Hall/Oxford
🐢Saw turtles in Panama
🧗‍♂Climbed the Jerusalem Wall

Teach, Learn, Share

I like making strangers smile, getting lost, understanding people I don't understand. I can teach you how to make a good vegetarian meal with few ingredients. I can teach you how to count in 7 different languages.

What I Can Share with Hosts

🛬 Travelling and hosting stories
🍽 Food from my home
🇦🇹 Insights into the Austrian culture
🍬🍫Austrian sweets
🇩🇪German language course
👂🏻Listen to your stories

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, El Salvador, England, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Northern Ireland, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Panama, Peru, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Scotland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Martin’s full profile.

My Groups