Logo orange

Martyna Urbańczyk

Gdansk, Pomerania, Poland

Maybe Accepting Guests

83% response rate · Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Martyna's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 60 Positive References
  • Fluent in Polish; learning English, French, German, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • physicist
  • No education listed
  • From Cracow
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

North!!

ABOUT ME

Vegan polish girl who likes mountaineering, outdoor activities, electric guitar, math and science =). Likes to inspire people and be inspired. Always looking for a new paths - according to Alex Supertramp: "the core of mans' spirit comes from new experiences".

PHILOSOPHY

=)

At first - the best things in life are not actually things, and the best things in life are for free.
In our beautiful Polish language: Najlepsze rzeczy w zyciu nie sa tak naprawde rzeczami i najlepsze rzeczy w zyciu są za darmo. ;)

Why mountains? Because they are and they are waiting ;). Because they verife me. They are about freedom, overcoming and respect and...
"Mountains are the means, the man is the end. The goal is not to reach the tops of mountains, but to improve the man." - Walter Bonatti
Which means in Polish: "Gory sa… s›rodkiem, celem jest człowiek. Nie chodzi o to aby wejsc‡ na szczyt, robi sie to aby stac‡ sie™ kims› lepszym".

Why I'm vegan? Except what everybody knows: no veganism - no special super powers ^^, because...
"There is no way to peace. Peace is the way."

What I deeply believe - according to Alex Supertramp: "I know how important it is in life not necessarily to be strong... but to feel strong".

And Alex again: "Make each day a new horizon", but everybody knows that the best horizon you have from the top of mountain [thats why I love sleep and wake up somewhere about the top or anywhere in mountains, on the wild^^].

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I like this global hospitality idea very much =)!

Hosted in an old family house:

* Mina, Bulgaria (Sofia)

* Lina, Lithuania

* Agnieszka & Wiktoria, Poland (Poznań)

* Eugenie, Uzbekistan

* Yasir, Pakistan

* Johnson, China

* Maria, Ukraine

* Leah, New Zeland

* Malin & Emelie, Sweden

Hosted in my and Hubert's home in Cracow, Podgórze (Janowa Wola street):

* Basia & Karolina, Poland

* Sari & her friend, Finland

* Matthew, England

* Ema and Mykolas, Lithuania

* Klaas & Annelies, Belgium

* Stina & Ruth, Germany

Hosted in my and Hubert's home no 2 in Cracow, Podgórze (Jana Zamoyskiego street):

* Gosia & Emilka, Poland

* Merve, Turkey (Istanbul)

* Hendrik, Germany (Leipzig)

* Jessica & Thomas, Unites States

* Felina, Germany (Berlin)

* María, Spain

Hosted in our home in Gdańsk (Kaszubska street):

* Aga, Poland & Sara, France

* Giulia, Italy & Yasir, Pakistan

* Marta, Poland (Częstochowa)

* Sahar & Saeid, Iran (Tehran)

* Summer, China

* Ivan, Ukraine (Zaporizhia)

* Alina & Valeriya, Russia

* Adelina, Bulgaria

* Jane, Ukraine (Vinnytsia)

Surfed: one day I'll make my 'surfing list' as well =).

Organized: I like to organize events so I had the honor to organize few meetings and trysts =).

Interests

I have a lot of hobbies and dreams and I think I'm always very busy because of them ;). Some of my favourite interests are:

* mountains and everything what is signed: m a. s. l.: hiking, climbing, bouldering. What to say? Mountains are calling and I must go ;);

* this year, after I moved from Cracow to Pomerania, I've decided to try myself in winter swimming and I found it very beautiful and full of joy. I joined a group called "walrus club" and I must say that winter swimming is awesome!

* I'm interested in polar expeditions very much;

* music and electric guitar;

* probably like everybody here I love traveling and hospitality;

* mathematics fascinates me a lot;

* I like idea of "civil society" and I'm interested in animal and human rights (and volunteering);

* I love cooking and baking delicious vegan goods. Recently I've found a source of fascination in gluten-free cooking. It means - yes - I can bake vegan & gluten-free cake which doesn't look and taste like compost ;);

* books;

* I like running - everytime I run I have a feeling that I do something very good for myself;

* I also love learning foreign languages. Now I learn French but I feel a little embarrassed speaking French since once somebody asked me "Martina, es-tu prêt?" and I answered "oui, je suis prêtre". Not so good ^^'

And I love coffee ;)

Music, Movies & Books

MOVIES: "Touching the Void", "Into the Wild", "Lord of the Rings", "Vanilla Sky", "Cloud Atlas", "Once", "Samsara", "Flight" - are my favourite.

MUSIC: music is a huge part of my life, because I work as a manager in philharmonic =P Besides I love playing electric guitar very much and I discovered that when you learn how the music you love is constructed and you study how to play it - step by step, chord by chord and riff by riff - you start to have entirely different, deeper contact with music. It's something so so beautiful! Most of the music I listen and play is in a DROP D ;).

BOOKS: Ryszard Kapuściński, Kinga Choszcz, Tolkien, Nabokov, Marek Kamiński.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Around 8 years ago I adopted steet cat. He's name is Wersor and that time he was around one year old (so now he is around 9). Some time ago I asked his veterinary doctor - how long usually do street cats live here? He said - average 6 years. I uderstood that adopting homeless animals means saving their lifes. His purring makes me so happy and I can't imagine better recompense. So people - let's adopt =)!

Teach, Learn, Share

With pleasure I can share with You:
* smiling =) [also in hard situations like: early morning hours, polish wheather sometimes, getting lost - what probably will happen to you if you stay with me =P];
* I can take you to the bouldering club;
* hiking in mountains - I love sharing amazing beauty of our polish mountains;
* if you're interested in winter swimming and don't know how to start, how prepare your body and what the feeling is I can give you some tips (but I'm a beginner so I can offer your tips for beginners ;) );
* talking about physics and science;
* hitch-hiking and backpacking traveling;
* I can teach you few riffs on electric guitar;
* vegan kitchen and vegan lifestyle - http://veganbuddy.pl/index.php/o_projekcie;
* freeganism and anticonsuming lifestyle
* I can teach you some polish - probably one of the most difficult languages - so challenge accepted ;)? and...

... many little things like for example running in the rain, what I use to do here every spring and summer ;D. And I am very open for new ideas and hobbies =).

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Montenegro, Norway, Palestine, Poland, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey

Countries I've Lived In

Poland, Switzerland

Join Couchsurfing to see Martyna's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile