Martina Carlen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Martina’s full profile.

Overview

  • 105 references 47 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German, Spanish, Swiss German; learning Indonesian
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • HRBP in a bank
  • Master of Science in Psychology
  • From Brig-Glis, Valais, Switzerland
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

S Swiss girl (you are lucky to meet a 100% REAL Swiss because there are not many left😆) who finished her Master degree in Psychology in Zurich (no I don't analyse you, I studied economic, work and organisational psychology ;) in January 2017 and was traveling around the world for almost 2 years, mostly hitchhiking (cars, motorcycles, boats, helicopters,...).

It was always my dream to go around the world for an uncertain time after my studies, without any plans and without any rush, just going where ever I feel to go at the moment and feel the freedom that most people never feel in their lives. That's why unfortunately I couldn't host during a long time.

But now I'm back in Switzerland and work and live in the beautiful capital Bern. I want to settle down for a while and wanna give back all the good things people did for me during my travels!

For guys: Don't abuse couchsurfing, it's not tinder!!!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To avoid touristic places, to discover the real world, to get in touch with local people and to learn something from everybody I meet

Interests

Everything in/on the water or the mountains and nature
- scuba Diving! (I'm still looking for a dive budy who can keep up with my air consumption )
- sailing (my dream is to cross the Pacific on a sailing boat)
- wake surfing (as well I have the motor boat licence so let's rent a boat and get on the lake)
- paddle boarding and swimming (not only with whale sharks, but as well)
- hiking, rock climbing and mountaineering
- paragliding (I'm paragliding myself since 2021)
- meditation and yoga

Meeting people, participating in their daily life and listening to their life stories

Trying different food from different countries! I love fish (ceviche 😍) and spicy food (I bet I can eat more spicy than you)

Music, Movies, and Books

I love to watch Psychothrillers (Shutter Island, Seven, The girl on the train, Memento), Animation Movies and documentaries (Human)

Books: Biographies (Not without my daughter)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Swimming with (whale) sharks and mantas, diving in Cenotes at 40m in Mexico, meditated for 10 days without talking in Asia, participating in Ayahuasca ceremonies with shamans in the Amazons, got invited to travel along the east coast in Australia until Tasmania on a motor boat for a month, was sailing around NZ, the Bahamas and Greece, hitchhiked thousands of km's by myself in Europe, Asia, South America, Australia and NZ (which is sometimes scary, but that's the kick 🤣), skydived in Hawaii, been invited to an Indonesian wedding, paragliding and climbing 4000m peaks in the Swiss Alps... I have experienced so many amazing things! All together I can say that the best thing I've ever done is to start traveling on my own.

But the most amazing thing I have seen on all my travels is the fact that the less people have, the more welcoming they are, the happier they are and the more they appreciate what they have and what they can share. Seeing and feeling this, makes it always hard to go back home in a country, where people are totally spoiled

Teach, Learn, Share

I can tell you what I learned on my travels and give you a lot of informations about different countries, teach you some Swiss-German words (or even in "Walliserdiitsch") which are almost impossible to spell or any of the languages I speak and (if it's not already melted) bring you some of the best chocolate in the world ;)

If you visit me in Switzerland I will do a Fondue or Raclette for you (sorry I can't cook it when I visit you cause you probably won't have the "machines" to do it), so you get to know typical cheesy Swiss food. I will show you around Bern (it will be partly a swimming sightseeing tour in summer) and the Swiss mountains, glaciers and lakes if I'm off.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I try to show you as much as I can around my beautiful country, cook some Swiss food for you and make you feel comfortable at my home (I know how it is to travel for a long time so don't worry about clean sheets, towels, a washing machine, a hot shower, food and the privacy you need)

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Ecuador, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Guadeloupe, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Laos, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Martinique, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Singapore, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Germany, Switzerland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Martina’s full profile.

My Groups