Martin Renard's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Martin’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 19 References 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, French; learning Chinese, English, Finnish, German, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Student
  • I study languages
  • From Zoersel
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Relax for a bit and meet some new people in my hometown

ABOUT ME

Hi everyone! I'm Martin. I'm 26 years old and I live near the port city Antwerp in Belgium.

I like music, both playing and listening. I already play guitar for years and I play the chinese instrument Erhu for a few months now that I started learning during my study in China. I really enjoy all kind of music , especially rock and metal music but i also like new wave, dnb, pop-rock, electro or some other random songs I hear around me.
Furthermore I like reading all kinds of books, watching movies, traveling, computers and drawing. I also really like studying languages and also study to be a translator in Antwerpen. My main languages at university are german and chinese. The first language that I started to learn that wasn't a language at school , was Finnish. I like the way it sounds and the fact that it is so different. This together with my will to communicate with more people made me make the choice of my studies.I speak around 6 languages now. If you speak one of the languages stated on this website, feel free to send me a message in that languages. I'm fluent or get around in any languages stated, except finnish. I unfortunately only have a passive knowlegde for that. I'm a social type although I can be shy in the beginning. I like having people around me and friendship is a very important thing for me. I would like to get to know people around the world. That's propably also the reason why I study applied linguistics at school because languages opens the door to other country's ,culture , people and ethnic groups. Other than that do I like to travel and see the world.

Furthermore I hope to meet some nice people around the globe.

PHILOSOPHY

I think people should stop seeking for conflict but seek unity.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

It all started with a summer course in Helsinki. All hostels were fully booked and I needed a place to stay. At the same time I also really wanted to get to know locals, because I was traveling alone. This turned out to be a great experience!

I have couchsurfed some more around Europe and China.

I have hosted a few people that hosted me in the past and showed people around, but haven't hosted as much people as I would want to.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Have been couchsurfing in Helsinki for 20 days. It was awesome :)

Met a few amazing people while couchsurfing around Europe!

Went to some meetings in Tianjin and Guangzhou and met nice people.

Interests

Music , reading, traveling , drawing , going to bars

  • culture
  • books
  • chocolate
  • beer
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • music
  • guitar
  • metal music
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: V for Vendetta, Pulp fiction , The Matrix trilogy , LOTR , Star wars , American pie.

Music: Metallica , In flames, Children of Bodom , Sonata Artica , Pendulum , The cure , Stone Sour , AC/DC, .. and a lot more.

Books: Da vinci code , Animal farm , Brave new world , 1984 , L'étranger , books of LOTR

Teach, Learn, Share

I can learn you all about Belgium , the culture , the chocolate and the beer.

Besides that I can maybe learn you a bit Dutch , French or maybe a bit Chinese?

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Slovenia, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, China, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Martin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups