Marina Sulim's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 20 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marina’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 53 References 44 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Russian, Ukrainian; learning Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • not employed currently
  • Master in Applied Math, KPI
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi! I'm happy you are reading my profile.

I live with my husband Vanya: www.couchsurfing.com/people/veselov
and angry cat Simon: on.fb.me/1L9cXQp

I have a photo blog with a lot of photos from travelling or walking with camera around the city. Check it here: www.martreya.com (or the older one, www.martreya.livejournal.com). I made myself a challenge to make at least one photo a day, and this project now lasts for more than 7 month.

First of all I am a traveller, then a photographer and a blogger. I worked as a graphic designer for 10 years and I am fond of this profession. So I am interested almost in everything concerned with it, like photography, drawing or typography. I like to learn stuff about user behaviour, interfaces and human-computer interaction. It is easy to find me lamenting over some beautiful, but inconvenient package or website.

I studied drawing in a small private school. Now I want to improve this skill by drawing regularly. I started a project on Facebook to keep me going and post my pictures every day: https://www.facebook.com/Everyday-drawings-1623639281242056/. I can see a huge improvement, but it's still a long way to go.

Every week I take horse riding lesson, which I enjoy very much. I practice running or doing exercises, but not every day, since I am tired or lazy sometimes :)
Vanya and I are fans of walking. There are a lot of walking routes in London. Though they are not sightseeing, they are quite pleasant, going through a lot of parks and old churches.
We go to play tennis with our friends sometimes. Recently we started to visit the bouldering wall which is located nearby. We are always happy to try a new activity or to go to a new event.

We follow vegetarian diet. I try to make it more vegan when at home, and yes, I am that kind of person who reads nutrition information on the packages :) But we are very flexible when travelling, and we enjoy every kind of food we can find out there.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

CouchSurfing gives me a chance to know more amazing people and I don't remember a time when I regret having known them.

Also, it is a good chance to share what I have with people who really need it.
Actually, we started to host people a long time before knowing this site. You know, all these friends of the friends of your friends, which you've never seen before, now are standing in the front of your door because your address was found in someone's notebook :)

Interests

My interests are photography, drawing, and different appearances of design in our life. It includes psychology and human behaviour, too. And so it expands vastly to biology, math and economy.
I do a lot of sports, constantly switching from one to another.
I like travelling, of course. For me it is a time to live a different life.
The rest of the time I just lay there on my sofa.

I like to eat and drink, and do that more often than I need to. Except not eating meat, I'm not picky in food, but I can raise hell when I'm hungry. I always have something to drink at home, so just ask :)

  • cats
  • arts
  • design
  • graphic design
  • photography
  • education
  • running
  • walking
  • drinking
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • drawing
  • bouldering
  • music
  • metal music
  • opera
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • tennis
  • philosophy
  • psychology
  • mountains
  • trekking
  • people
  • reading books
  • sharing
  • sharing economy
  • travel blogging
  • rollerskating
  • horseriding
  • human behavior
  • peoplewatching
  • behavioral economics
  • boulder
  • libertarian paternalism
  • verbal communication

Music, Movies, and Books

I like different music, depending on a mood. I started as a rock fan teenager, then switched to metal and industrial music, and now I am exploring jazz and classical music.

Books! It's a magic word. I choose my books carefully, because I can't read everything that is written. I consume them several at a time, reading one on paper, another on the laptop, yet another on the phone, and listening to one more while running. Mostly they are nonfiction or classic fiction. Here is my profile on goodreads: http://bit.ly/2dL3oep

As for movies, usually I just don't watch anything at all. If you want to discuss the latest movie or you favourite series, I'll be a keen listener, as I don't know anything about them.
I started to watch all movies from the top 250 IMDB list, and I liked them all except one. If you want names, I adore Tarkovsky's and Kubrick's movies, but don't know much about the directors themselves.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Since when I was born one amazing thing goes after another one. Every travel is wonderful, and makes me think that the best journey will be the next one.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like learning, but it takes time to change my mind on some topics. I have deep, though messed knowledge about human behaviour, photography and drawing and will be glad to share some tips with you.

I enjoy taking pictures of people, so if you would like to change your profile picture on facebook, I'll be glad to help you! And I need to make a drawing a day, so if you want a caricature, I can try to draw you for 5-10 minutes :) Just ask me to, otherwise I can be too shy.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Usually I choose hosts more careful than guests. So if you received a request from me, probably I've found that we have something in common and decided that we will have a good time together.
I am not too picky, we may drink beer, play board games, visit lectures or do whatever you decide. Or, if you are too busy, I may just explore the city by my own.
If you want me to bring you some kind of souvenir or gift, feel free to ask.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, Palestine, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Russian Federation, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Marina’s full profile. It’s free!