Martyna Jabłońska's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Martyna’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • No languages listed
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • hostel receptionist
  • MA in English Philology
  • From Pila
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Travelling at the moment.

ABOUT ME
Always the most difficult thing to describe, as what we think of ourselves is sometimes different from what others might think of us. I'd say that I like doing things and being involved- especially in the arts. This year I helped out organising a small festival in Edinburgh and enjoyed it greately. I suppose places and events of a certain charm and decadent atmosphere attract me the most- whether it woud be Scottish highlands with their haunting feeling, glittery winter balls with carriages waiting on a frosty white night, or a Mad Hatter's Party (which I organised once and certainly will do it again). I suppose I like making life poetic.
From real facts of my life- I was a self employed English language teacher for 5 years in Poland, which I enjoyed a lot. After that I moved to Edinburgh- a random choice , but appeared to be the best decision in my life. I totally love this city! I've been staying here for 3 years now working in a backpackers and enjoying my 'second youth' :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I haven't got it yet- usually camp rough while going on travels. I can't also for the moment offer any accommodation as I'm currently living in one of the Edinburgh's backpacker hostels.

Interests

Travelling , incl. time travels. What I mean by that is something which immerses you in a different era . Vintage swing parties, regency festivals, jumping on a victorian train with a picnic basket...What I mean is staying in a place for some time to get to know the people and culture. To go on a cycling trip where you can breathe the air and get energised with the Sun (if you're lucky that is) and stop every 10 min to take photos.
Recently I've also become very interested in global economy, sources of world crisis and sustainable approaches to money creation .
Singing traditional eastern-european songs. Check out the singing collective I'm in: https://www.facebook.com/davnomusic
Blues dance. Alternative events.

  • arts
  • culture
  • singing
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • picnic
  • partying
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • painting
  • blues
  • cycling
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: literature, poetry, economy, popular science
The ones that influenced me the most, from the top of my head- H.D.Thoreau -"Walden"; Lech Majewski "The garden of Earthly Delights", Milorad Pavic "Dictionary of the Khazars", Douglas Rushkoff "Life Inc.", John Perkins "Confessions of an Economic Hit Man"
When it comes to films- too many
music: Mumford and Sons, Gangstagrass, Bjork, Siergiej Starostin, Dikanda, Madredeus, Django Reinhard... (in other words: folk, blues, jazz, indie, classical, fado, flamenco, fusion etc.)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Eating caviar and drinking champagne in a cave with a group of potholers dressed in mud-covered teddy bear suit as a part of celebration of discovering Czarna cave.

Teach, Learn, Share

to teach: Polish language, English language (I was a teacher) basics in blues and swing dance
to learn: jamming - I'm a lower-intermediate banjo player but don't have experience in playing with other people
to share: traditional eastern-european harmony singing, blues & swing dance, cooking,

What I Can Share with Hosts

skill share, travel experience share, cooking, home help with enything such as cleaning, painting and decorating etc., my poor banjo playing...

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Cook Islands, Croatia, France, Greece, Italy, New Zealand, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Poland, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Martyna’s full profile. It’s free!