Maria K.'s Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria’s full profile.

Overview

  • 76 references 21 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Hindi, Russian
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • No occupation listed
  • university
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

instagram: @masala_panda
(my travel photos and stories)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

First couchsurfers I met in India in 2009, and then i used the platform several times while traveling in Switzerland, Italy and other places. It has been a wonderful experience so far! Some time in a while i can host people as well. Mostly I enjoy CS meetings - it brings new interesting and likeminded people to your life along with new ideas, stories and plans for travels.

Interests

  • photography
  • festivals
  • wine
  • yoga
  • traveling
  • guitar
  • languages
  • volunteering
  • mountains
  • nature
  • people
  • adventures
  • local food
  • india
  • authentic arts
  • cooking experiments
  • long walks
  • campfires

Music, Movies, and Books

i like listening to local folk music, discovering local bands when visiting other countries, fond of summer music festivals, often in the mood for sounds of sitar and Deva Premal, adore someone playing guitar live.

among books - everything by Hesse, Tolstoy, Dostoevsky, Kipling, Th. Mann, 'Shantaram' by Gregory Roberts, 'Homo Faber' by Max Frish, some of the stories by Mitch Albom, and i just never have time to update this list...

movies: Into the wild, The secret life of Walter Mitty, Fifth Element

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Having learnt to value every day of my life is one amazing thing I’ve done.
Unique moments were as well teaching at an Indian village school, climbing Sicilian volcano Etna and several mountains in the Alps and Himalayas, swimming with dolphins, sleeping in the desert, reaching a mountain lake on Tibet's border, living in a meditation sanctuary in Thailand with Buddhist monks...

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach how to cook Russian borscht or Indian paratha, organize Chinese tea ceremony, basics of yoga and meditation

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Brazil, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia, Maldives, Moldova, Montenegro, Nepal, Netherlands, Poland, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, India, Indonesia, Russian Federation

Old School Badges

  • 12 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria’s full profile.